There might not be enough yoga in the world

To get me less stabby than I am right this moment.

IM from supervisor, “Hey, can you test bug X, it’s getting pulled into the 6PM build and the deadline is today for this version.”

Um, WTF? That bug shouldn’t have been approved for this version, not so close to the deadline – that’s like, a rule. I ask how this happened.

The dev checked the code into the wrong fucking version. WELL FUCKING UNCHECK IT IN SOMEHOW. (Which apparently, cannot be done, except for the fact that they could, because I know that *I* can view old code/new code comparisons and they could just copy the old code and the check that in, but WHATEVER.)

Thing is, this dev… He’s one of those “too smart so he checks nothing” people. Which is why I swear, I am constantly sending shit back to him, and things like checking code into the wrong version happen.

So, I will be working late tonight and praying that it actually works on the first go-round. (I don’t mind having to work late on the whole, cause shit happens, hell – I’ve got a 9PM meeting tonight with the rest of the folks on the other side of the world, but this is a stupid reason.)

Posted in Rants, Working | Tagged , | Leave a comment

A bleary eyed good morning to you

on this post-DST Tuesday. But – I did wake up on time! Adding a bit of insult to injury, we won’t be seeing ANY sun until Saturday and today’s highs won’t even hit 50 degrees.

The disco grow lights over the seeds in the greenhouse and in the front window have been turned on the 12 hour setting. Also, the temp in the greenhouse has dropped into the 60s, and I don’t know if that’s going to mess things up or not – but, no chance of freezing in there at least.

I don’t know if you’ve been following the Sarah Everard case in London, but jesus, the Met is fucking this up big time. To respond to a vigil and protest against violence against women with more violence against women…especially after it was a cop that murdered a woman? WTF are they thinking? And the cherry on top – they’re going to put undercover cops in bars to “protect” women. I don’t see this increasing trust in the police there. As someone on Twitter said, “Can’t wait to get groped by a cop in a bar.”

Policing everywhere is just so fucked.

You take care today.

Posted in News | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Slightly better wakeup time today

Up at 9, which is closer to “normal” for a non-workday. (Yay, PTO.)

And it occurs to me (and I think I have this thought every year) – I should have been adjusting my wakeup time over the past week. I have now put a note on my calendar for this time next year. Only 49 years of this and I’m finally getting smarter about it…

But honestly, we’re on DST 9 months of the year already – let’s just make it all year long. I can’t deal with the dark at 4:30 anymore. (Also, I probably need to move south to boot.)

Interesting – just saw on Twitter that my Governor is getting the J&J vaccine right now. Glad he’s getting it, and also can’t help but wonder if getting the J&J shot is a calculated move to try and overcome folks concerns over that particular vaccine.

My county is doing its best to get all the doses they get into arms, we just don’t have enough doses. The 1B waitlist is at 110K and they’re making appointments for folks that registered on 1/28. The promised supply increase can’t get here fast enough.

34% of over 18’s have gotten at least one dose, which is great, but we’re only at 12.5% for full vaccination. (I know, I know, one dose has a good effect, but there is also a reason Moderna & Pfizer are two dose regimens.)

There are all kinds of things I could get done today with my day off, but I think “quietly existing” is going to win out.

Posted in Miscellany | Leave a comment

In a nod to anniversaries and whatnot

We have Dunkin’ this morning. Last year, that Sunday morning, little bro went out for donuts and it seemed appropriate to do it again today.

However, I do need to give up on the mobile ordering app. The handful of times I’ve used it, I have invariably watched 2-3 customers walk up and direct order and get their donuts and be gone in the time I’ve been waiting for my chocolate frosteds. Pre-pandemic, mobile probably would have been faster, but now since *everyone* is using it – far slower.

And I’m all discombobulated with the time change…as usual. These days, I’m waking up between 8-9 on the weekends – expected I’d wake up between 9-10 today, didn’t even open an eye until 10:30 and somehow IT’S ALREADY 2PM. I’m very…

But, that extra hour of daylight in the evenings is going to be GREAT. If we could stay on DST so it’s not pitch dark at fuck all 4:30 come winter…I’d like that.

Go enjoy that extra light! I’m gonna go stare at my seeds, LOL.

Posted in Miscellany | Tagged | Leave a comment

One year

Everyone has a different Day 1 of all this, mine is March 13th. I’d been quite aware of what was happening – stocked up on paper products, going to the market in off hours when it wasn’t crowded, and very pissed off at the complete lack of response from the government.

And since then, over a half million people have died – and I will never forget or forgive those that made it that way, because it never, ever had to be like this. May 45 and every last one of his enablers never know a moment of peace or joy for the rest of their lives.

At that point, we had 8 cases in the county, and 25 statewide. The state closed schools for a month, and my community responded by BUYING EVERY LAST DAMN THING IN THE GROCERY STORE.

Not like blizzard prep shopping, like absolute blind panic shopping. Produce section utterly wiped out (except grapefruit – which I like, so at least I had that) – which just killed me, cause we all know damn well at least 2/3 of what was bought was binned by the end of the week. Meat case, empty, frozen shelves, empty. Everything just gone in the space of a single day.

I think that evening shook me worse than anything all this past year. We’d seen some of the lockdowns in Europe – markets and pharmacies stayed open in every case – but everyone seemed to just forget that and think we wouldn’t be able to get food. And then it became a self-fulfilling prophecy because of the panic shopping. I was so angry at people basically going feral.

March 13th was also the last day I hugged another human being. Kinda miss that.

I remember the kick in the teeth of “we’re staying in Phase 1 until June 10th”… HAHAHAHAHAHA. Then being pissed that we lifted restrictions, and then pissed again when they took way too long to re-implement when things went to shit again in the fall.

In October, when they were saying the path to full vaccination would take another year and thinking, “Fuck, how am I gonna deal with that?” – now, I could do it on my head.

The things I hoped we could get out of this? UBI, Medicare for All, a new administration, and a 4 day work week? Well, 1 out of 4 is…better than zero. Even with this latest rescue package, it’s not enough, far too late, and we’re still dealing with “oohhh noooo, people may get help they don’t need” and fuck me, let’s not. (I’m not saying the package is *bad*, I’m saying we could do better, and we should keep trying.)

I’m still jealous of the folks who managed to learn a new skill this past year or really threw themselves into their hobbies. I’ve baked one loaf of bread, gotten through 1/3 of a cross-stitch project, and forgotten how to read. I don’t even have kids, and the exhaustion and lack of focus is REAL.

Work…well, I’ve managed to keep my job, and my company has tried to be conscious about what’s going on and well meaning, but it has highlighted that c-suiters live in a totally different reality.

I’ve been ridiculously lucky through all this. I already worked remotely, so no adjustment there. No kids to try and keep alive and educated and entertained. My big changes have been just…not eating out and wearing a mask. Not really difficult. And yet, I’m still so very ready for this to be done.

What a shitty year it’s been. But, hopefully this time next year, I’ll just be hungover and eating a great breakfast at my diner.

Posted in COVID19 | Tagged | Leave a comment

So…May 1st

If we can actually get to the point where we have enough vaccines available that everyone over 18 can be eligible by May 1 – my lord, that would be HUGE.

Mind you, it will take a hella effort to get those into arms, but we might be able to have a semi-normal summer. Wouldn’t that be something?

Right now, the best vax day we’ve had in my county is getting 5,320 second doses administered in a day. If we could consistently be at that rate (and I know it’s dependent on having the vaccines to give out) – the current waitlist would be cleared by the beginning of April and everyone over 18 could be done by the first week of August. (Though I’m hoping we can improve on those numbers.)

Gotta say, I’m liking these shifting goalposts of “Oh, we can do better? Then let’s do that.” There is something to be said for competence and care at the top.

The mind boggles with all the stuff we might be able to do sooner. Haircuts. Saturday breakfast at my diner. Have my pato tacos *at* the taco bar at the beach instead of 30+ feet away from all other forms of life. Short rib ragu at Trattoria Villagio sooner rather than later. (It was the last dinner before the pandemic – little bro & I have decided it needs to be the first when we can eat in again.) Our little fall festival. The 4H fair.

I’m realizing my post-pandemic to-do list is very food oriented.

Note to IT folks in all the health departments across the country: Time to get another server or something so everything doesn’t crash May 1.

But my god, there really is a light at the end of the tunnel.

Posted in COVID19 | Tagged | 3 Comments

OK, that was awesome

Today, it was in the high 60s and sunny and I decided to go and do lunchtime yoga outside AND OMG IT WAS SO GREAT AND WARM AND SUNNY AND LOVELY. I did it in the carport, which still had tons of sun from one side and I am still not sure how I feel about my neighbors seeing me trying to do this, LOL.

And Lily was BIG MAD about it – partly that I was outside and partly because I had taken HER yoga mat.

Over the course of the pandemic, she has decided that my brother is spending too much time in the basement (where he lives…) and multiple times a day, she yells at him until he comes upstairs and they sit on my yoga mat and he brushes her. He is nothing if not obedient to She Who Runs the House.

Now, every time I do yoga, she runs downstairs and yells at him, and I’m pretty sure it’s something along the lines of, “BOOOOOOY, SHE’S ON OUR YOGA MAT!”

I seem to have gotten past the brutal work hours and things are normal and sane again at work, which is nice.

My latest group of plants are still alive! And the near dead African Violet has a tiny bit of new growth on it! I think I will be repotting it this weekend with some nice new soil. And I think I know what went wrong with the first mini-rosebush – underwatering – this new one soaks up every damn drop I give to it. Hopefully I’ll not go in the other direction and accidentally drown it.

Posted in Gardens, Health, Lily | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

Well, that was quick

It’s Monday again already. I mean, I get that’s how time works, but damn, the weekend whipped by – and I did *not* spend any of it working. I also didn’t get jack done around the house either other than fussing over my new plants and two excellent naps with the LilyMonster.

But, it’s a payday and half day Friday week, and a three day weekend, so that’s something. Keeping my hopes up for regular 8 hour days and as little ridiculousness as possible.

Our county’s vaccine dashboard updates registration data every hour. The waitlist is now up to 109K – and this is only 1b folks. Eek. I know they keep saying supply is going to catch up here very soon, and that waitlist will start dropping, but right now, yiiiiikes. I seem to see so many locals on NextDoor posting about their vax experiences, I genuinely thought we were getting more shots in arms.

But, I know, and I’ve said it out loud multiple times – even if we had a bang up awesome administration the last go round, this would be a hella hard project to get rolled out, and patience is required, especially for those of us who are at the end of the list cause we’re relatively healthy and can easily take precautions like working from home.

Gif of Moira Rose from Schitts Creek saying Good is Coming - It Has To

But – highs of 70+ this week!!! Maybe one night we’ll have a front porch happy hour! Granted, Sat-Tues will be back in the 50s with rain, but four days of sun and warmth! And we get an hour of sun back after this weekend! (Hence the long weekend – losing that hour of sleep messes me up something fierce, so I try to take an extra day to adjust.)

Let’s go get it done.

Posted in COVID19, Miscellany, Working | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

Obsessed…

I don’t know if it’s the pandemic in general, the slow rollout of the vaccine, or being on the cusp of spring, but I’m fully leaning into weird hermit cat & plant lady status.

I was back at the garden center this morning*, wandering through the greenhouse, repeatedly googling, “Will this kill my cat?” and I can report I have maxed out the space on my plant shelf in the front window. We’ve now got African Violets, Gerbera daisies, a mini rosebush, spider plants, calathea, creeping peperomia, and a nerve plant. All cat safe to boot – though she hasn’t paid a bit of attention to any of the plants, it’s not worth the risk.

Today’s additions – clockwise from top left: Spider plants, creeping peperomia, calathea, and nerve plant.

So, I have a nice mix of flowers and greens there now, and no space for any seed starting, LOL. I’m suddenly eyeing the 15″ of space between the end of the plant table and the corner of the TV stand thinking, “Hmmm, I could clear the crap out there and get some more shelves in…” Something like this!

So, I’ve got to get the little greenhouse put together – it’s literally a frame and two shelves, and while it shouldn’t take any time at all to get together, it will be easier to do in the carport and then just bring it inside. But it’s only in the 40s out there today.

But I know where I can put it and sadly, it is also the space where Amazon boxes end up and it’s quite the mess. So, this week will be clearing that out and prepping it for the shelves, and then we have a half day on Friday which will be sunny and in the 70s, so perfect for getting that put together and THEN WE START SEEDS! WEEKS TOO LATE, BUT WE WILL START SEEDS!

I figure I’m going to keep the disco grow lights going on the plant shelf until we’re getting more solid sunlight – probably mid-spring. And I also just realized while writing this that I am going to need some for the greenhouse, too – even though the planned spot is in front of the non-opening side of the back “french” door and gets some sun, they’re going to need some help. Best order that *now* so I have it next weekend.

*We’re still at the point where hardly anyone is there, even on the weekends – it’s great! So quiet that one of the cats that lives there was just stretched out and chilling at one of the checkouts. Got this shot of him yesterday deciding that despite having water bowls, the water from the watering cans in the greenhouse was better:

Posted in Gardens, Photos | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Come oooonnnnn, vaccine ramp up

So, I did more digging through the vaccine datasets from the state. First, let me say how much I love that they put these out here – they’re broken down to locality & health district, vaccine manufacturer, *and* the number of first & second doses.

In my county, the first second dose was administered on 1/2. Since then, we’ve gotten 89K fully vaccinated. That is definitely not nothing, but it’s also only 10% of our over-18 population. (I really thought we’d sped things up more.)

The county waitlist that was 105K yesterday is 107K today.

We’re getting an average of 1,392 a day to a fully vaccinated status. At that rate, we’ll get through the waitlist by nearly the end of May.

If we can’t increase the vax rate, we don’t hit herd immunity until 2022. (70-95% of the over 18s will take until between March to August of next year at the current rate.)

Our cases *are* dropping in the county – we’re back to early November numbers with a 7 day average of 160 cases a day. (Our peak was a 7 day average of 696 cases a day on 1/17.) So, that looks good.

But – our testing is dropping, too – we’ve never had true full bore surveillance testing here – they’ve gone into some nursing homes and very specific communities, but on the whole, testing has been self-selecting – and that’s how you end up with the mess of massive asymptomatic transmission.

The county is talking up the fact that a) our vax supply should be increasing significantly soon, and they expect J&J vaccines over the next few months, so that’s good, too, cause we need to get more shots in arms to be sure.

But, I’m thinking the J&J vax is going to be a harder sell – public health officials seems to be mainly focused on keeping people out of hospitals (which I totally get – that *is* really important) – but not so much on “how sick can you still get and are we still looking at more long haul cases.” I know the potential for being a long hauler scares the shit out of me. (I’m still pissed at how last year they kept saying, “Oh, the vast majority of cases are “mild” and it took forever for them to admit that mild = no hospitalization, but can still put you flat on your back for two weeks and have unending consequences.)

For people who are very concerned with not getting sick at all, J&J’s efficacy of 70-85% (depending on which article you read) vs. Moderna & Pfizers 90+% efficacy – well, you can tell people “take whatever vaccine you can get” until you’re blue in the face – but people are going to make decisions based on those numbers, because it’s more than just staying out of the hospital.

Posted in COVID19 | Tagged | 2 Comments