Well, I’m that bitch!

And totally OK with it. My grocery store has an interior entrance – it’s in a little shopping center with a lobby with the market on the left and some other little shops on the right.

In the center they have tables and chairs, which is nice under regular circumstances. Now that the temps have dropped, assholes are using it as a restaurant seating area because they can’t do their Starbucks meetups anymore and they don’t want to hang out in the parking lot. (Which is what they were doing all summer – unmasked and not distanced, but I COULD AVOID THEM.)

Now they’re indoors, unmasked and “oh, we’re eating” – no you’re fucking not, because if you were, you would have been done and gone between the time I went into the market and when I left and called you out on it.

I have emailed the property manager to ask that most, if not all the tables be removed for the duration of the pandemic. Petty? Maybe. Do I care? No. I cannot be the only patron of the market who does not want to walk through an area of unmasked people to get my groceries, because these twats don’t want to get their Starbucks and go the fuck home like the rest of us do.

I’ll give them a week to rectify the situation and then I go to the health department.

I’m not playing around with this one – I can choose to not go into restaurants that are open, and I am doing that. I *have* to go through this space to do the marketing.

And to be clear, I am not fucking over any unhoused people – they do not congregate here. These are fucking entitled middle class white people who have decided they’re going to get around the rules because they’re tired of the pandemic.

WELL GUESS WHAT FUCKERS, I’M TIRED TOO, BUT YOU DON’T SEE ME PUTTING OTHER PEOPLE AT RISK.

Posted in COVID19, Rants | Tagged , | 3 Comments

Yay, it’s Fuck It Friday!!

And it couldn’t have gotten here soon enough. The defect that has plagued me most of the week has thankfully been moved to next month’s release, which will give me more time to test (it will be FIRST on the list when it’s ready) and I’ve thought of additional test scenarios that I need to try anyway. (I need to redeem myself, if only for myself.)

4 more fucking days until Election Day, and that can’t come too soon either. JHFC, I hate campaigns on a GOOD year – this year, I am so over it. I was looking through my ActBlue history and this election cycle, I’ve supported TWELVE candidates. If any of them lose, I want a refund, LOL. (I looked to reassure myself that yes, I have done my part – I think I have.)

Election night/week is going to suck – I understand that it’s going to take longer because of the higher numbers of absentee ballots to count. I can wait – I get it. My concern is a certain tangerine tyrant and all his buddies refusing to wait, and R’s trying to stop vote counts, and do whatever they can to win by any means.

The way the courts have been acting on voting with less than a week to go – if we win, we HAVE to expand and rebalance the courts, and write a better, litigation-proof, Voting Rights Act. A court system that is systematically denying the right to vote is no good for anyone. (Note to R’s: If you can’t win honestly, maybe you should be better at your job. Just a thought.)

I just can’t fathom another 4 years with that evil fucker in the White House, being enabled at every turn by the GOP – just hurting people left and right and no one stopping them.

A Biden administration is going to require a LOT of work – there is so much to undo and fix, but it’s work I am ready to do – I will happily call my reps every week to push them to not just fix things, but MAKE THEM BETTER.

And if we have learned anything in the past two years – it’s that we desperately needed to flip the Senate in 2018. We HAVE to flip it this year – or it’s just going to be continued minority rule by the R’s. And that is going to suck.

Posted in Politics, Working | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Gahhhh….

The fix did get checked in.

Still not right. (And one part that was right yesterday is not anymore.)

Again, if not for the 12 hour time difference, first fix could have been checked in on Monday, and this bit caught yesterday.

At least no one has bitched out loud about the fact that I didn’t find it sooner. (There was a protocol change back in…May that had it actually registered in my brain and I’d followed it, I would have found it a day and a half sooner. Don’t think for a second that I’m not kicking the shit over myself over that.)

Posted in Working | Tagged | Leave a comment

Sweet Baby Jesus, please just get me to Friday

I am legit Friday tired and it’s only Wednesday morning.

The broken thing I found at work Monday morning – sent to dev on the other side of the world, yesterday morning they send it back “we think you’re reading it wrong, here is the spec” – OK, read the spec and, yes, I was looking at it the wrong way. But even looking at it the *right* way – the math still didn’t work.

Had to pull in one of the product managers to look at it with me, cause I thought I was going crazy – she was at least able to see why the math didn’t work, back to dev again.

We’ll see when I log on if they were able to fix it overnight or if we’re moving it to next month’s release – I hope they’re moving it, because otherwise I have to try to get all the testing on it done today, which will suuuuuuuuck.

But this is what I hate about a big chunk of my team being on the other side of the world – if they were US based, we could have done the back & forth (and possibly the fix checked in) all on Monday, but instead it’s Wednesday and until I log on, it’s Schrödinger’s bug fix. They’re great folks, but the 12 hour time difference is a bitch and a half.

Adding to my exhaustion is this fucking election. If you have a mail in ballot, you’re gonna have to drop it off, cause the fucking Supreme Court is not going to help here, since they’re siding w/ the R’s on not counting ballots received after Election day, even if they’re postmarked on time, and the Post Office has said they can’t get the job done.

The Republicans should never have power again and I swear to God, if we do not expand SCOTUS to 13 seats to match the federal districts… (That’s how we got from 7 to 9 – to match the federal districts.) Otherwise, we’re looking at… decades of the R’s doing minority rule through the court systems.

I’m just really sick and tired of these fucking assholes just hurting people left and right – Senate adjourned until 11/9 – with no fucking assistance to the American people. Assholes, every last one of them, and they need to be removed from power and shunned FOREVER.

I will neither forgive or forget these last four years.

Posted in Politics, Working | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Ughhhhhhhhhhh

So, jump on to work early this morning and get going on that last bug fix that has to be done today.

Bashed my way through a few issues getting the data setup, run the first test and… it’s still not working correctly.

So, had to yank it at the last minute, and I doubt it’s going to make it to the next test round for this month. I found it a) so late in the process, and b) the developers for this one are on the other side of the world, so they won’t even see the email until hours after I’ve logged off tonight – I mean it is possible they could get the fix done and checked in overnight and I could give it another whirl tomorrow – possible, but I don’t think probable.

I am fighting kicking myself over this – I had 3 bug fixes to test by COB today, all had the same severity, and one of them was going to have to be the last to be tested, it just happened to be the one that is still having problems.

It’s not the end of the world, it won’t be horrific if it has to move to next month’s release, but still, ughhhhhhhhhh.

Posted in Working | Tagged | Leave a comment

So, looks like it’s Monday again…

Good news is that the work server came back up sometime yesterday and I was able to get a couple things done last night, and I’m down to testing one single bug that has to be finished today.

Normally I do not get this down to the wire with work deadlines, but this round of bugs, I had two that just…took…fucking…forever, which kinda screwed my usual “be done a bit early” routine.

But, get this one done today, and the next deadline is 11/6 and it’s re-testing everything that is due today on a separate system – retests always go quicker, and I’ll have time to get a bunch of prep work done before the window opens for testing, so this should be the end of late nights and jumping on the laptop on the weekend for a while.

So, I just need the cold brew to kick in (come onnnnnnnn, cold brew!) and we’ll be off to the races.

Time to go grind those gears for capitalism.

You have a good week AND MAKE YOUR PLAN TO VOTE!!

Posted in Working | Tagged | Leave a comment

Ughhhh

I hate being out of sorts, and I am seriously out of sorts today – even more so than my usual off-kilterness these days.

I didn’t sleep well and slept way later than I’d planned to start with. My alarm is set for 10:30 on the weekend, but with the pandemic, I’ve been up 1-2 hours earlier than that on a regular basis. So waking up at 10 was a bit of a WTF moment.

Got to Starbucks, quick trip into the market – forgot the paper towels. Fuck.

Did remember to grab a flea comb, as the LilyMonster has been scratching a bit and I can’t find any of the ones we have in the house.

Yeppers, Miss Monster has picked up some fleas. Oh joy.

Dash to the organic pet supply shop, Felix & Oscar, for a couple bottles of Wondercide spray & geranium soap. And a couple “forgive me” toys, of course. The weeble-wobble mouse toy is already a big hit, as is the canvas “squirrel” with the floofy feather tail. (I love this little shop so much, and I’m so thankful they’re open on Sundays.)

We’ve already done a couple rounds of “comb & soapy water”, which thankfully, she quite enjoys. Also washing ALL THE THINGS cause she sleeps on LOTS OF THINGS! And spraying down everywhere she hangs out, which is a lot of places when you stop and have to think about spraying everything down.

On the whole, she’s big mad, cause she is not a fan of the sprays – the smell fades quickly enough and she’ll deal, but for the moment, I am getting some stink eye. I think they smell lovely. (We have Lemongrass, Rosemary, & Cedarwood. They really are nice!)

My big plan for the day was to just see if the damn work server came back up.

But hey, the couch has been cleared and sprayed and has fresh clean blankets on it, her chair has been cleared off and sprayed and will have a clean blanket shortly, her hallway pillows have been sprayed and will have a clean blanket on them shortly…

There seems to be a theme of “clear, spray, place clean blanket” here, LOL.

And all my bedlinens were due for a wash anyway.

And even in the time it’s taken me to write this, the stink eye has faded and she’s now in my lap. :)

Just not the Sunday I’d planned. I think I will put little bro in charge of dinner.

Posted in Lily, Miscellany, Rants | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

Well, so much for that idea.

The plan was to work a couple hours this weekend to make Monday easier.  I am by no means a workaholic, but the schedule this month is a bit jacked and this was really just to make Monday not be a shitshow.

Of course, I log on and discover the damn server that basically connects between the software and the databases went down at 8 am this morning, and the folks who can kick it back into gear aren’t around cause it’s the weekend. (Understandable.)

I looked at the logs and it said a notification was sent when it shut down, but I don’t know who that would have gone to, and I’m guessing it just went to email that will be unread until Monday morning.

I’m vaguely annoyed, for multiple reasons. I couldn’t tell from the logs *why* the server went down. The fact that there doesn’t seem to be a really “active” notification that the server went down, probably because it’s not customer facing. (But wouldn’t you want to know it went down, even on a weekend, so you’re not dealing with screaming folks on Monday morning?)

And I’m gonna have to go in extra early on Monday, which is fine, it will just make for a long day.

Same thing happened last night and it inexplicably came back up, so I’ll give it another whirl later today and/ or tomorrow. I just wanted to get some shit out of the way before Monday.

In the meantime, it’s a lovely afternoon for a beer on the porch and probably a nap afterwards.

Posted in Working | Tagged | 1 Comment

Pandemic fun!

So, learned something this week.

If you spend 8 months taking the health precautions to heart, especially the “avoid extended time in small indoor spaces” bit, and then do something like say… schedule a dental appointment for a root canal – it could get weird.

Let’s just say I did not consider ahead of time at all that it may be weird to do the exact opposite of what I’ve been doing and…well, I had to reschedule the appointment.

I will give my anxiety credit – it’s working so hard to make sure I don’t get Covid. But it’s kind of like when your pet brings you a dead animal and you’re, “Oh…how kind, you shouldn’t have!”

It just hit me like a ton of bricks out of the blue as soon as I sat down in the chair – wow, small room, extended time period, no mask for me… and I realized trying to tough it out would just end badly. (And I’m feeling very smart for *not* trying to tough it out.)

I’m sure I’ll be fine when I go back, since I have had time to really consider that yes, this is weird and goes counter to EVERYTHING I’ve been doing for the last 8 months, but it’s also not the same as spending 2 hours in a crowded bar or something like that.

Thankfully, everyone at the dentist was incredibly kind and understanding.

But jeez, this pandemic is really fucking annoying.

Posted in COVID19 | Tagged | Leave a comment

15 days

Until election day. (I think. At least that is what the Twitters are telling me. I already voted, and I rarely know what day it is anymore.)

If you haven’t voted yet, please, please, PLEASE make your plan to vote and execute it. We have to stop this nightmare of an administration.

And we’re going into a damn third wave of Covid. And I am mystified because we *know* what to do and it’s SO DAMN EASY.

– Wear a fucking mask.
– Stay six feet apart when you’re out and about
– Get carryout for dinner
– Wash your hands

OK, I’m oversimplifying a bit, but it’s not much more complicated than that.

I miss going to my bar. I miss having a sit down meal in a restaurant. (God, I so miss my Saturday morning breakfast at my diner.) I miss taking a leisurely browse through a retail store. I miss just hanging out with people for no reason, just sitting and shooting the shit. I miss having not-my-natural-color hair without a fuckton of split ends.

My big indulgence these days is running in and out of Starbucks when I’ve flaked and not made my own cold brew. I swear, I get an endorphin rush just saying good morning to the folks working there.

I miss all of it. But not enough that I am willing to get Covid, or worse, get it and pass it on to someone else.

And then I see pictures and videos of folks out jammed up next to each other, no masks, not a fucking care for others – and it makes me so angry and sad. And the tangerine tyrant is leading it all. (I should not be surprised he managed to get Covid and it made him *more* of an ass about it.)

I’ll never forgive 45 for the way the administration handled this, nor will I forget. More importantly, I will never, ever forgive the Republican party who enabled him and just marched in lockstep with him.

I will be watching the “never Trumpers” – I suspect their dislike of him is just that he keeps saying the quiet part out loud, not that they are upset with a single policy that has come out of this administration.

It’s not enough to just have him out of office. Every last one of his quiet enablers needs to go as well. Almost 220,000 dead and near 8 million infected with who knows what kind of long-term health consequences.

Things have got to change – and in 15 days, we have a real chance to do it.

Please vote.

Posted in COVID19, Politics | Tagged , | Leave a comment