So, how are you sleeping these days?

I’m getting my usual quantity – but the quality is kinda shit. Weird, weird dreams – I can’t remember the specifics of them now, but they were definitely related to the current news cycle.

Things I have recently learned: Congress can ban 45 from holding federal office, even without impeaching him. They should do that. And the second this violent asshole is out of office, the media should never cover him again.

We shouldn’t be giving microphones to people who incite violence. It’s very simple.

I’m not looking forward to four years of wondering what his asshole cult is going to try and blow up next. That’s his legacy. Violence.

And Pence won’t invoke the 25th. IDK, if my boss sent a mob to kill me, I would invoke the 25th, not pardon them, and deliver a sharp kick in the nuts to boot. I just don’t understand WTF is going on in Pence’s head.

His career should be 110% over no matter what he does – so, just get the fucker out of office before he gets even more people killed.

And to every R out there still supporting 45? Fuck. You.

Posted in News, Personal, Politics | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

8 days, 3 hours

I don’t think I have ever in my life been this anxious to see someone take the Oath of Office.

Even if we are starting it off with me yelling at Biden – jackass, I don’t care if you’re not afraid of doing the inaugural outdoors, THINK ABOUT EVERYONE ELSE THAT HAS TO BE INVOLVED IN THIS.

Putting everyone’s safety first is NOT a sign of fear or weakness. It’s just fucking smart.

And I really, REALLY want my company to say something about all this. Something that says “Nazis aren’t welcome here.” I need to hear it. My coworkers who come from marginalized communities need to hear it. People who should find another fucking job definitely need to hear it.

I know they just want to keep their heads down and ride it out. Easy to do when you’re a C-Suite resident. Not as easy for others.

I just want this monster out of office and held accountable along with all his enablers.

Posted in News, Politics | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Sure, let’s just work today

That’s going to be perfectly fine and normal. Much like my brain deciding to use sleep time to go through my mental rolodex of contacts trying to figure out who may have gone to the Capitol on Wednesday. Totally normal.

I don’t actually think anyone I know went, so I don’t know why my brain is deciding to double check this. I do know at least two of my coworkers in my old department are 45 supporters (thanks, FB…don’t know why folks in that department are so keen on FB friending) – but when they advertised it, one new hire who was under their purview who struggled mightily made more sense. She was black. It’s not something that could ever be proven, but…

As far as my current department… Don’t really know. My other US coworker, probably not. Immediate supervisor – I think he cares too much about Covid to also be a 45 supporter. Director above, who knows, but leaning towards no. C-Suiter above him? Anything is possible, but again, leaning towards no.

Mind you, they could all be fucking fascists and my brain is just trying to protect me, because I like them all, and I don’t want to like fascists.

And because it’s Monday and American Capitalism stops for nothing, it’s time to go do the thing.

Hang in there.

Posted in Personal, Politics | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Well, I don’t know about y’all

But I am INCREDIBLY offended at Republicans calling for unity right now.

Sorry, no unity without accountability. Do they not understand what the President did? Do they REALLY not get it? Or do they just not want to face any consequences? (I’ll take what’s behind door #3, Bob.)

He sent an armed mob to kill the Vice-President and anyone else they could get their hands on – with the help of some Capitol Police who *let them in* – they were only saved because a Black officer managed to send them on a wild goose chase while doors were being locked – as the rioters screamed the n-word at him.

The President and his supporters did this to them.

And they don’t want to hold him accountable? They want him to run again? They want his continued involvement with their party? They want support from people WHO WANTED TO MURDER THEM?

I’m sure Abigail Spanberger just loved getting to use her CIA training to tell her colleagues to take off their Congressional pins so they couldn’t be instantly identified, while hoping these folks didn’t know what any of their reps actually looked like.

Every non-political worker in those Congressional buildings probably needs a fuckton of therapy after Wednesday, and probably won’t be able to get it, because American Health Care.

But the Republicans want to walk away from this like it never happened and claim those of us who want accountability and consequences aren’t interested in “unity”.

I have no interest in that kind of unity.

Posted in News, Politics | Tagged , | Leave a comment

We have a healthy Lily!

She had her checkup today, and all is well.  She’s gained weight, which she needed to do – she dropped under 10# last year when she was being Miss Picky Eater – 11.5# today – we’ve all put on some pandemic weight, LOL.

She will need a dental cleaning, but it’s not critical and we can do that when spring rolls around.

AND SHE WAS A GOOD GIRL! Vet said not a hiss or a growl out if her. So, SO proud of the little furball.

And I picked up a soft-sided carrier for this trip. My lord, I should have gotten one of those YEARS ago. It’s so much easier to handle than the old hard sided one. Lighter, far less unwieldy, padded handle and has a nice fleece pad in the bottom.

So happy my buddy is in good shape.

Lily, a black and orange tortoiseshell cat, in her carrier
Well, shit.
Posted in Lily, Pets, Photos, Uncategorized | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

What a fuckin’ week

I don’t want to live in a future chapter of a history book anymore, thank you. It seems 2021 isn’t going to give us a break.

I don’t even remember Monday at this point.

Tuesday we flipped the Senate, and that’s already in the wind.

Wednesday…well, fuck.

Thursday was quiet I guess? Maybe? Oh – we certified the election at 4AM.

And then last night, watching the fucking President of the United States try repeatedly to evade his Twitter ban – my lord, have some dignity. Can’t wait for the hearings – all the social media companies are still going to get hauled up in front of Congress – this was far, far too late.

And Biden talking about how we have to toughen up on domestic terrorism – fuck no, dude, we all know from experience that will only be used against Black & Brown folks in this country.

If we’re not going to defund the police and replace it with a better public safety system, we need to root out white supremacists & white nationalists from law enforcement AT EVERY LEVEL. FBI down to the tiniest departments in the middle of nowhere.

We already have laws to deal with these people. We need law enforcement that’s isn’t fucking complicit in it all. I mean fuck, I thought the rioters would get into it with the cops outside – not in a million years did I think the cops would LET THEM IN AND TAKE SELFIES WITH THEM. (Yes, I should have known better.)

And then you have the Republican lawmakers who do not seem to understand that had these assholes found them, they would have hurt or killed them – seriously, your President sent a mob to kill the Vice-President. You really think they would have skipped you if they’d stumbled across you in the halls? How are you feeling about that impeachment vote these days?

I’ve been trying to embrace the principles of prison abolition and restorative justice. But, I can’t even figure out what justice should look like here.

There definitely needs to be more arrests – we have all these motherfuckers on video. (I still cannot believe they just LET THEM LEAVE.) ALL the law enforcement agencies involved need to be investigated. There have to be serious consequences here – I just don’t know what will help the people who were inside Congress on Wednesday and be a deterrent going forward.

And speaking of going forward – we cannot have a big, public inauguration. We shouldn’t be having one anyway because of Covid – we really shouldn’t be having one because people are going to get hurt. The number of support staff required to pull off an event like this – it’s not right to put them in harm’s way.

We don’t need a big inaugural spectacle. (I think it’s kinda dumb anyway, but I am old and cranky and not in need of spectacle anymore.) Quiet, indoors, safe, livestreamed – that will work just fine.

A lot has happened this week. Take care of yourselves.

Posted in News, Politics | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Let’s eat!

I’ve been eating better since my brother has been temporarily out of the house than I have in a while, LOL. It’s not all him being gone, but about 50/50.

First – I have had SALADS for lunch TWO DAYS IN A ROW! (That hopefully would have happened regardless of the whereabouts of my brother.)

I decided to try the single serve salad kits that my market has – I felt like I was caving to lazy, but honestly, I used to use the salad bar A LOT and got the right sized salads, and when I buy the ingredients, I don’t finish them before they go bad. So, I’m basically just making up for the salad bar not being closed. (And if anyone else bought them, I wouldn’t think they were lazy – don’t know why I think that of myself.)

One was a “Southwestern” style, with lettuce, roasted corn, chicken, monterey jack chese, tiny tortilla chips, and this great sweet-hot dressing, sort of a honey-chili. It was FANTASTIC. I’ve already picked up another one for the weekend.

Also grabbed a Chicken Caesar, and it was good – hard to screw that one up – I actually bought it as a backup for the Southwestern in case it was terrible.

I also have an “Asian bowl” one for the weekend – lettuce, almonds, chicken, edamame and dressing. Looking forward to trying that.

But dinner – that is where it shows that my brother is not around, cause I tend to make things that he isn’t a fan of. Sure, he wouldn’t care and could make whatever he wanted, but it feels like a dick move to cook something and not make it for both of us.

Salmon two nights running – just pan fried in butter/white wine/Worcestershire sauce with some Montreal Chicken seasoning (that stuff is great on everything).

Tonight, lemon-pepper scallops, from Sea Cuisine. I’d never had any of their seafood before, and what’s great about them is they go from freezer to oven to plate. You don’t even have to defrost them. Gotta say, they were pretty darn good – sure, not as good as fresh in a restaurant at the beach, but tasty, and even more so considering the level of effort required to cook them.

Grabbed some crabcakes for tomorrow night, but little bro does like those, so I think those will be held until Sunday – so I just have to figure out one more meal that I like that he doesn’t, LOL.

Posted in Food | Tagged | Leave a comment

So, it’s Friday

But time is meaningless, given that it’s also March 315th, 2020.

But, so far just this week, we’ve gotten through an attempted coup, an election certification, and a continued pandemic – all while still having to work, get the bins out, feed everyone and generally get through the day.

That’s not nothing – give yourself a pat on the back.

And try and eat some veggies today.

Posted in Miscellany | Tagged | Leave a comment

It’s OK to do “normal things”

I’m sure you’ve read in any number of places that we can’t “normalize” yesterday’s coup attempt/domestic terrorist attack at the Capitol. And they’re right – we cannot normalize this.

But, doing normal things in the midst of a crisis – especially one where you can’t really do anything but watch – is *not* normalizing the crisis.

Had to work? (I did.) It’s OK – we all know American Capitalism stops for no one. (As the pandemic has most recently reminded all of us.)

Made dinner? YOU HAVE TO EAT, THAT’S IMPORTANT! (I ate.)

Went to bed rather than staying up until 4AM to watch the Electoral College get certified? SLEEP IS GOOD. (I racked out around 11:30 – tired and capitalism…)

I’ve seen people today who I could tell felt *guilty* for doing normal things.

The thing is, even in a crisis, the world still spins on its axis. You need to eat, sleep, figure out how to pay rent, get the bins out, feed the pets, do the dishes, get some laundry done. None of these things stop needing to get done, regardless of what is happening in the rest of the world. (OK, dishes and laundry can probably be put on hold, but you want clean socks & underwear in bad times, and those dishes will get gross.)

And if during those “doing normal things” times, you’re not thinking about the crisis? That’s not only OK, it’s healthy.

So, eat something, drink your water, and get a good nights sleep.

Posted in Miscellany | Tagged | Leave a comment

Well, that was surreal

Among other seditiony and treasony things.

I mean, I knew yesterday would be a shitshow, but I expected separate inside and outside debacles.

I did not expect the Capitol Police to just let those fuckers waltz in and take selfies with them.

And then just let them leave. I’m surprised they didn’t give them juice boxes and crackers for the trip home.

The Capitol Police have a lot to answer for here. So much. If you needed convincing that our police forces are filled with white supremacists – this is your big clue. THEY LET THEM IN AND TOOK SELFIES WITH THEM.

And Biden has still been certified as the next President.

And the Congresspeople who objected to Arizona & Pennsylvania? They need to find new jobs. They aren’t working for the people – they’re working for 45, and 45 only. If they’re not expelled, this needs to be a 24/7 talking point if they run again.

And 45 needs to go, NOW – I don’t know that we can wait two weeks. But I also know his cabinet doesn’t have the guts to do the right thing.

When the harshest sanctions against him are from social media companies…that’s a problem.

And to every Republican out there scrambling to change their tune – good fucking luck. We’re not going to forget that YOU helped make this happen. You let him spout utter lies for 4 years and encouraged him and this is on you, too. I hope you never know a moment of peace or joy for the rest of your lives.

Posted in Sports | Tagged | Leave a comment