Staples – deal on alcohol wipes

I’ve been using a LOT of alcohol wipes during the pandemic – I really prefer them to hand sanitizer as they don’t leak and are generally more convenient for me. Went up to Staples to get more today – they have the packs with the snap top so they don’t dry out and I like those. Well, they were out, so I went online – and they apparently are getting ready to discontinue them, so I stocked up.

Single pack of 80 wipes – 79 cents, regularly $3.99

Single pack of 50 wipes – $1.99, regularly $2.99

Carton of 30 packs/80 wipes – $19.99, regularly $149.99

Carton of 24 packs/50 wipes – $23.99, regularly $57.99

I’ve got a carton on the way… I did say the pandemic had made me weirder.

Posted in Miscellany | Leave a comment

Haaaaaaaappy Friday!

We made it! Well done, you! I’m waiting for the Virginia Department of Health to update case data to see if we have managed another downward case day. Fingers crossed that we’re still on the right track.

I was kinda weird to begin with, but this pandemic has certainly made me extra weird. Always a little worried that everyone is going to freak out again and clear the grocery store. Tracking case and vaccination trends. Being annoyed that the health department stopped updating its datasets on the weekends. Keeping a sharp eye on the paper products in the house. (We have never run out. I am particularly proud of that.)

They were talking on the radio about how this is moving from pandemic to endemic – which is good but also sucks, because it feels like we’ve just accepted it – and we absolutely did not have to. I will never forget or forgive the Republicans and Q-Anon jackasses that got us where we are today.

But, it’s not all awful. I’ve got this goofy gal by my side. She’s been an excellent pandemic buddy. And last night, she got to try a bit of porkchop for the first time. And given that she immediately started climbing all over me to get a second little bite, I’d say she liked it, LOL.

Lily, a black and orange tortoiseshell cat, sleeping on a blue blanket
Snoozy morning

And this second cross stitch ornament is coming along very quickly – I love it when it starts to look like something right away. And since I’ve got today off and no plans – I think I will be getting a lot done on it today.

Work In Progress - Christmas tree cross stitch - pineapple on top with two partial apples below, rest of tree to come

I’m very happy I got back to a point where I could focus on things so I can stitch instead of doomscrolling Twitter. It’s far healthier and I have something pretty at the end.

I’m gonna go stitch a bunch of x’s – you have a lovely day.

Posted in COVID19, Lily, Needle Arts, Photos | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

Well, now I’m going to just be confused all day.

Had to pop into the market that is in the same shopping center as the butcher shop.

Pulled up, the sign is gone and the windows are painted over. Pull up Google maps, it says it still exists and it is open.

Finally look up – and honestly, it’s sheer luck my car was pointing in the right direction – the market has moved to the other side of the shopping center.

Now, my hand to god, I’d say it was in the old spot not two months ago.

The cashier said they’d been in the new space for almost a year. HOW?!

So, I’m already out of sorts and then on the way home, NPR was talking w/Dr. Leana Wen about Covid and the new anti-viral meds that are in testing. If these are effective, that is fantastic.

But, I worry that it’s also just going to be another “I don’t need to get vaccinated” excuse for the willingly unvaccinated. Sure, they may have an effective treatment, but won’t get vaccinated, still get Covid and spread it before they get to the point of treatment – just like we’re seeing in Florida with the Remdesivir annexes.

And then also talking about how the government is going to spend 1 billion on rapid home Covid tests. I mean, great, but how are they going to get these to anyone? The mail is still broken, this should have been done back in January, and it’s so fucking late.

So, I’m home, still kinda confused and vaguely annoyed.

I’m going to go repeatedly stab some fabric with embroidery floss.

Posted in Miscellany | 2 Comments

Yay, long weekend

Well, the day off is already off to a good start – woke up before my alarm, coffee has been acquired, and little bro’s birthday breakfast/dessert is here. (Seriously, if he’d asked for a three layer German Chocolate Cake, I would have figured out how to make one, but if it’s donuts he wants, I will not argue, LOL.)

On the Covid front, we’ve had 4 days in “substantial” transmission – fingers crossed that this downturn sticks. (The last dip only lasted 3 days, *sob*) National Zoo has canceled it’s two big fall/winter events – though they’re outside, they’re usually jam packed with kids, so I get it, but damn that sucks.

And holy shit, we have a malaria vaccine!! This is amazing and awesome and I’m going to go out on a limb and say we’re not going to see a bunch of anti-vax assholes in African countries when they start rolling this out to folks, cause they actually understand that malaria is fucking bad and you don’t want to get it.

Welp, time to hit up the butcher shop for some really good porkchops for dinner.

You have a fantastic day and stay safe.

Posted in Miscellany | Leave a comment

Woo, it’s my Friday

Yay for PTO to burn and a reason to use it. (Still the weirdest work problem I’ve had in a long while.) Tomorrow is the Festival of Donald as he turns 29 yet again. (I am not old enough to have a brother who is 30 years old. I don’t think I ever will be.)

So, I’m taking tomorrow off so I can make dinner without having to rush around after work to make it happen and if I’m taking tomorrow off, well, might as well take Friday off, too.

And for his birthday dessert, he has requested DONUTS! Not homemade, not exotic, he’s just provided a list of Dunkin’ favorites. He was like, “OK, this may be weird” – hell, if that’s the sweet thing you want, works for me.

And today is early meeting Wednesday and he was up at the crack all of dawn and GOT COFFEE!! (It’s not been a good “remember to make cold brew” week for me.)

In other work stuff, one of my buddies from support got another gig in the company doing client demos – she’s going to be perfect for it and it will be so much less stressful for her, and I am SO happy and excited for her! We had a good time talking about all the new upsides – no fighting for leave, no having your lunch scheduled for you, time to breathe and think, and overall a better environment to work in.

Well, time to plow through the day and start the weekend!

Posted in Miscellany | Leave a comment

Goooooood morning!

And we’re starting the day with the BBC covering our heinous treatment of Haitian refugees. I don’t understand why we can’t fucking help people, whether they’re from here or not. We have got to stop acting like people come here just for some “easy street” life. Maddening that Biden’s administration is just as cruel as the last one.

Glad to see the Pandora Papers are getting a 3rd day of coverage – that feels like a record in this “we’ll cover something for 15 minutes and never speak of it again” times. Now, do I think anything will come of it? No, but it’s still good that it’s getting coverage.

Oh, and the Facebook/Instagram/WhatsApp outage yesterday… I saw SO many conspiracy theories about the outage. But honestly – someone pushing a bad configuration file to production? That absolutely can happen, especially if you’re in a “move fast and break shit*” environment. I do think this will be a case study in what not to do and incident response and fuckup recovery.

And yes, Fb/IG/WA definitely need to be split up – not just by company, but probably regionally to boot. There was no fallout here other than the fact that I had to text my brother on the other side of the house like an elderly person vs. using Messenger.

You have an awesome day and test your shit before you push it to production.

* Dumbest tech mantra ever.

Posted in News | Tagged | Leave a comment

Hey, a good thing!

My county has dropped back into “substantial” Covid community transmission from high!

Hopefully it will last more than 3 days.

If the current trajectory actually holds, we could be down to moderate in ~2 weeks, and to low in maybe a month.

Now, will our downward trend actually hold? IDK, the weather is getting cooler, and our vaccination rates are still flat – 66% fully vaccinated, 74% one shot.

But, it’s nice to have a little hope for a change.

Posted in COVID19 | Tagged | Leave a comment

3 day week, yay!

And Lily is hollering at me, because, I guess I slept through the night and did not spend that time fussing and loving on her. So, I’m trying to type and love on her at the same time. It is not easy.

Of course, she won’t just sit on the couch next to me or get in my lap, but insists on sitting on the end table next to me just barely within reach. I’m gonna pull a muscle in my back trying to reach her.

I’m trying to start on my next stitching project and hoo boy, the universe was not cooperating yesterday. First one, no grey floss, so that’s on order. Next one while first on hold – can’t find the aida I cut for it, then I don’t seem to have the light green floss that came with the kit. Cut another piece of aida, found some other light green thread in my stash, but by the time I did all that, I decided it would be best to set it aside until after work today lest I somehow screw it up right out of the gate.

And I’m realizing as I caffeine myself up for work – I have no idea what is on tap today. Absolutely none. So I’d say it was a successful weekend as I not only didn’t think of work, but purged all knowledge of it from my brain. (Yo, universe, give me that Powerball prize I can continue this, LOL.)

Well, time to go do the thing and make the money in case I don’t win that lottery. You have an awesome day.

Posted in Miscellany, Working | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Early Up Sunday

I don’t hate being a semi-morning person on the weekends. Kinda nice to have a little more of the day to be lazy. :)

Going to the art fair yesterday was an excellent idea – I’m going to have to make this an annual thing. Tons and tons of talented artists, good food, and a beautiful day for it. Walked a couple miles and the whole thing just totally lifted my mood. It’s almost as though getting out and getting some exercise is good for you or something.

I greatly restrained myself with the ceramics as we have no room for more coffee mugs, but I did get some little sauce dishes so I can stop using the mini tupperware tops for BBQ sauce when I eat my chicken nuggets. Like an adult.

I did not show that restraint at the maple syrup farm stand and have maple pecans, walnuts, and maple candies.

A better person would have gone to the women’s march, but I am not that person. Mostly because I’m not sure what it accomplishes. It isn’t going to make the conservatives on the Supreme Court or in Congress or State legislatures stop treating anyone who isn’t a rich, white, straight, Christian male as disposable and unworthy of human rights. Liberal folks already know we’re super pissed. It’s not going to make Sinema or Manchin get their heads on straight. The only solution I see is voting these motherfuckers out of office and write litigation-proof laws to take SCOTUS out of the equation.

I needed an afternoon of being joyful, not being angry. I know I’m privileged to even make that consideration. But, I have plenty of anger to go around.

Posted in Miscellany | Leave a comment

Good grief

Love to see a coworker post that her husband has reluctantly gotten vaccinated due to threat of job loss. She is immunocompromised and cannot get vaccinated. Like, what the shit? It took possibly losing his job, not HER health and safety? If I had an SO that pulled that shit, I’d kick them to the curb. Hell, if my *brother* pulled that shit, one of us would be living elsewhere. But, at least we have one more vaccinated person out there.

On a far more positive note, I’m going to an Art Fair this afternoon! It’s all outdoors *and* they have requested that everyone mask up! Fall 2019 when I went to a plant sale at the county garden park, one of the vendors told me about it and it sounded great and I didn’t make it that year and then the pandemic hit, and I happened to see it on an event calendar yesterday – and dammit, life is too short to miss festivals and fairs.

You have a great Saturday with vaccinated and masked folks. :)

Posted in Miscellany | Leave a comment