Goooood morning!

Back is getting better, yay – but JFC, I am still so mad that I managed to seize up my back SNEEZING. And the rain has stopped, so I can at least get out and walk today.

HAHAHA, you may have heard about Zillow buying up a shit ton of houses recently, and apparently they overbid on basically everything and now they’re looking at having to sell them at a loss.

And good for the lady California Condors who decided they didn’t need a damn man to get things done. Seriously, this is so cool! Good for them!

And our county’s case numbers continue to drop, YAY!! If we can continue the trend, we could be at moderate transmission in a week, and low by mid-November. I really want to truly put this damn pandemic in the rear view window. There’s just been so much unnecessary pain and loss for everyone, and we’re all so very tired.

Hang in there, and have a good day.

Posted in Miscellany | Leave a comment

*checks calendar*

Yes, IT IS FRIDAY! YOU DID IT!

My back is still all jacked up, but better than yesterday. If I keep moving, it’s pretty good. Problem is – I sit all day long for a living. Long walks and “all on the floor” yoga helped a lot yesterday, and I tried what I thought was a fairly hefty CBD oil dose to see if it may help, but that didn’t do a whole lot, but I also may have been too conservative. (All the dosing charts are weight x rate your issue from 1-5 – I went with 3, probably more of a 4 or 5 in reality. But it certainly didn’t make anything worse.)

So, I’ll be taking a lot of little yoga breaks today to keep things loose, and keeping the heating pad close to keep things warm. I’d plan on some quick jaunts around the block, but it’s going to rain all day. :(

I bailed at 3 yesterday – just couldn’t do the sitting still anymore – told my boss and he was “you need to take care of yourself first” – told him, “can’t test with a sore back” – and he pointed out that you can’t really do anything with a sore back, and he’s not wrong, LOL. He’s a good dude and one of those folks that you know is sincere and cares – I know if he checks on me today and I tell him there are gonna be yoga breaks, he’s gonna be “whatever you need to do!”

It was still so weird to call out – I’ve legit only taken 3 sick days in 5 years, and to say, “oh, my back hurts” felt so odd. (Though he’s around my age, and I am sure he’s gone through the same at times.)

I even managed to keep going on the house last night for a little bit – it was slow and I’m not getting near anything heavy, but I got some things picked up in the living room and did a bit of vacuuming. (Yay for the lightweight cordless vac that can be operated as a hand vac with the regular attachments! Vacuuming while sitting on the floor FTW.)

You have a great day, and be careful when you sneeze.

Posted in Health | Tagged | Leave a comment

Thank God for WFH

I’m sitting here with a heating pad legit strapped to my back with a belt, and because counterintuitive though it may be, I know motion is my friend – so I’m also gently rocking back and forth while I work.

And stretching on the floor every time I get up for something.

I could not do this in an office.

Well, I could, but…

Gonna slap on a giant icy hot patch and go for a very long walk at lunch, followed by my “all on the floor” yoga session. (I accidentally created a great back stretch session by not wanting to stand up, LOL.)

Also not ruling out not coming back from lunch. (I haven’t needed to call out sick in over 2 years. Love to do it cause I sneezed too hard this morning. )

Posted in Miscellany | Leave a comment

Ow.

My lord, the indignities of getting older. I have jacked up my back – by SLEEPING AND THEN HAVING A SNEEZE/COUGH. It’s the very center of my lower, lower back and I’m sitting here squirming and trying to figure out how the fuck do I even stretch this out?

Advil to the rescue and I may just belt a heating pad to my back while working. But JFC, this is so dumb.

I don’t want to let this put a dent in housecleaning, cause I am on a good roll, but the work I’ve been doing getting shelves up in the upstairs hall is on hold til the weekend I think – I think I’ll be focusing on the living room where I can clean while sitting on the floor, LOL.

OK, flung myself on the yoga mat, and child pose seems to feel pretty good – guess we’ll be doing a lot of that today.

Illustration of Child Pose - lay on floor face down, knees tucked up under you and arms stretched over head
Stretchy, Stretchy!

Also not helping with relaxation was seeing this as I opened the blinds this morning – OH MY GOD HOW DID A FROG GET IN HERE??!? Oh wait, not a frog…

Shadow in a lampshade that looks very much like a a frog, even though it is just the lampshade frame.
You see the frog, right?

You have a pain free day without any shadow frogs!

Posted in Miscellany | Leave a comment

Happy Hump Day

And it’s an OMG it’s too early Wednesday here. And to think I had briefly contemplated getting up this early every day. HAHAHAHAHA!

On the Covid front, our state cases have been on a solid downturn, but the county has been kinda stuck, but we seem to finally be off that little plateau and dropping again, YAY! I’d really like an indoor cocktail somewhere other than my house again. (Yeah, there are a lot of other good reasons to be happy cases are dropping, and I am happy about those, but also, indoor booze.)

Now, watch today’s numbers be shit cause I’m all excited about our progress here.

I’ve figured out how to work around all of yesterday’s “what the fuck?” stuff at work. The feature demo is a recorded thing, so I am just putting together a power point with a bunch of screenshots, and then I can record myself presenting that vs. trying to record myself actually running the feature “live” and having to do it 50 times cause I fuck it up. And I’ve figured out a way to get the client test db closer to production. So, go me. (And, I may not actually have to do the demo? We’ll see, but I am not holding my breath, so that’s why it’s in progress anyway.)

Well, time to go fake may way through some meetings!

You have a great day.

Posted in Miscellany | Leave a comment

Oh fuck me

I sure as shit jinxed myself by saying work was calm.

“So, when will you have the demo ready?” What fucking demo? Also, I would prefer to fling myself out a window than do a demo.

And…”Hey, can you make sure the client test dB is as close to their production dB for this test?” Uh, no, no I cannot since it hasn’t been refreshed in like, a year, and refreshing it would undo all the changes we’ve made… Not sure how the fuck I’m gonna work around that.

Posted in Miscellany | Leave a comment

Goooood morning

Not much exciting going on in my corner of the universe. Fuckton of housecleaning continues (with visible results!), bombardment of reminders of the election next week (JFC, I KNOW) and work.

At least work has been pretty calm, even if the one dev that drives me up a wall is again driving me up a wall. Oh, you can’t replicate the bug I sent you 6 months ago? Well, considering there have been hundreds of framework changes since then, I’m not shocked. (Not the first time I’ve sent them something and they just let it sit…)

In some happy dysfunctional royal family news – Princess Mako has married her boyfriend. You go be happy, girl.

Go find some happiness today.

Posted in Miscellany | Leave a comment

*waves*

I don’t know about you, but I’m kind of offended that Monday is here again already and I have to work the entire week. Broken record time: FOUR DAY WORKWEEK AS THE STANDARD.

And in all my domestic goddessing this weekend, I found muscles I forgot I had, plus a hip joint that I guess I wasn’t using that much, LOL. (It would seem I got into all kinds of awkward positions vacuuming the stairs.) Let’s get this day started with some Advil!!

OMG, just remembered a dream I had last night – got laid off from work (not my current job) – folks in it from my *first* job – and I was like, “bitch, I have 20 years experience, I’ll find something new” – it was just so weird that people from I job I had legit 25+ years ago are still wandering around in my head. But now that I think about it, it seems like whenever I have “lose my job” dreams, it’s that first job with all those people – very weird.

Welp, time to go do the thing and stop the “lose my job” dreams, LOL.

You have an awesome day.

Posted in Miscellany | Leave a comment

Oh, our Amazon driver must hate me

So, I ordered cat litter online cause it was out of stock at the market. It’s the lightweight version, and I usually get the 8.5 pound box of it – it’s a “regular” sized box and I don’t risk a hernia hauling it around, so it’s great.

Guess what idiot accidentally ordered two EIGHTEEN POUND boxes? I mean, at least we won’t run out anytime soon, but I so feel for that poor driver having to sling around a 36# box…

The “oh shit we need to have the plumber in” cleaning spree continues and I have managed to keep the kitchen clean for TWO WHOLE DAYS INCLUDING COOKING A MEAL! (This should tell you how bad I am at housekeeping.)

Time to go be a domestic goddess.

Posted in Miscellany | Leave a comment

So, anyone else seeing supply chain issues?

I hadn’t really noticed anything other than Lily’s food being an issue until now, but I did a big grocery shop yesterday and yeah, it’s here.

Mind you, it is NOTHING like it was last year, but it is a wee bit unsettling. There aren’t any empty shelves, just spots here and there that don’t have the usual things.

Ground beef – only 85% lean on the shelves. The frozen chicken patties & nuggets I like – not there. Other options available, but the ones I usually get just weren’t there. Lily’s dry food and litter both had to be sourced from Amazon vs. the local store this week. Oh, and the vitamin aisle has taken some big hits. (Unless you like gummy vitamins, they had tons of those.)

It’s not end of the world stuff by any means – I can cook just fine with non-90% lean beef, there are other frozen chicken options out there (we’re trying out Honey BBQ chicken tenders!) and I was able to get Lily’s food and litter.

I’m not freaking out, but I’ll admit, it’s making me a touch twitchy because I can’t help but wonder what won’t be there next time. I know I am spoiled to live in a country with so much variety and availability when it comes to food.

There was a fascinating thread on Twitter yesterday about the California ports – it seems that one of the big bottlenecks is that trucks don’t have places to drop off empty containers, so they can’t pick up new ones. (They’ve just temporarily eased restrictions on how many empty containers can be stacked, which should help.)

Have a great Saturday, and may everything on your grocery list be on the shelf.

Posted in COVID19, News | Tagged , | 2 Comments