Got my diagnosis

The tooth I thought was the problem, is not in fact the problem.

It is *a* problem, as my teeth have FUCKING SHIFTED AND OPENED UP A SPACE BETWEEN THE TOOTH AND THE IMPLANT. The tooth next to the implant that I was sure was very fucked up is actually OK.

So, they will have to pop off the existing implant and put a wider one on so there is no big space there where food will get perpetually caught.

The bigger problem is the two (of course, TWO) teeth on the other side of the implant.

One has to come out, the other we may be able to get away with a root canal, but it may actually need an implant as well.

He’ll be emailing me the treatment plans later today… I do not even want to think about how much this is going to run me, since my insurance is shit and he is expensive.

But I’ve got a course of antibiotics and a bottle of acidophilus, which means in the next 24-48 hours I should feel less like dogshit, so that’s something.

Posted in Health | Tagged | Leave a comment

Oddly excited

To go see my dentist this morning, if for no other reason, once it is confirmed that my tooth is mucked up, then, hey, it’s not Covid! (And of course, some sort of treatment to make it better.)

I mean, rationally, there is no reason to think I have contracted it given my activities, but yeah, that’s where your brain is going to go these days.

Still mad I tried so hard to keep my mouth in working order until I or my dentist could get a jab and it didn’t work.

(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻

And I am not even remotely surprised that the yahoo in the White House, despite being hospitalized and getting pumped full of experimental drugs and steroids, is *still* not taking this seriously and putting others in harms way for his ego. But – I am utterly ENRAGED by his behavior.

Also, what the hell is with the pictures of him signing blank pieces of paper and being “on a conference call” while looking menacingly at the camera? He looks like an idiot.

OK, time to go brush and floss and rinse. Even took a cough suppressant just so I don’t accidentally cough all over my dentist while he’s checking out my tooth. Unlike some people, I AM THINKING ABOUT THOSE AROUND ME.

Posted in Health, Politics | Tagged , | Leave a comment

OK, so it’s going to be a stupid day, got it.

Hit Total Wine, got what I needed, and then every damn grocery store on the way home and could not find the Rice Select Risotto rice. Rice Select is my preferred brand for any non-Minute Rice, good quality, resealable canisters, normally easy to find on the shelves.

Get home, jump on Amazon and discovered THEY CHANGED THE DAMN LABEL.

IT DIDN’T USED TO LOOK LIKE THIS

My hand to god, the label used to have “RISOTTO” in the big letters and “Arborio rice” in the teeny tiny letters below. So I was looking right at it in multiple stores, but did not see the “for risotto dishes” bit at the bottom.

D’OH.

Back to closest grocery store, because I was quite sure I had seen it this morning. Totally sure. REALLY, REALLY SURE.

No. They had Orzo, they had their Royal Blend Wild Rice, they had a sticker on the shelf for Arborio…but no canisters for it.

The fact that I did not scream OH FOR FUCKS SAKE right in the middle of the market was nothing short of a miracle.

Back to next closest grocery store. They did in fact have it.

But yeah, Stupid Sunday.

Posted in Rants | Tagged | Leave a comment

Ouch…

It’s rare that I ever think to myself, “Damn, I am so glad my dentist could fit me in for a diagnostic visit tomorrow,” especially in the middle of a pandemic.

But damn, that is how much my fucking tooth is bothering me. It’s definitely going to be antibiotics + root canal in a week, and probably a crown to boot, but hell at this point, anything to make me feel less like total dogshit. (Fuck, I’d drill a hole in it myself if I thought it would help right now.)

And I’m so angry, because I’ve been so damn diligent so I didn’t *have* to do this. (Seriously, there are spools of dental floss scattered all over the house, specifically because I kept having problems with getting food caught next to THIS PARTICULAR TOOTH, so I was being extra careful, to no avail.)

And I have so much I want to get done around the house today, and I kinda just want to go back to bed with a heating pad on my face. (I took a decongestant hoping it might help with some of the pressure, but it doesn’t seem to be doing jack shit just yet.)

And I have to still run a couple errands, because the closest grocery store didn’t have good marsala wine or risotto, and little bro has a fancy birthday dinner coming up at the end of the week, and ingredients must be procured.

So, off to Total Wine (and I somehow see a nice bottle of port landing in my basket) and another market to find risotto, which I really thought would be simpler, cause the local market *used* to have it all the time.

Enjoy the rest of the weekend.

Posted in Health | Tagged | Leave a comment

Product endorsement!

So, we’re at the point of the pandemic where cooking is a chore (and frankly some days, eating is, too.)

So I snagged some frozen burritos at the store. Red’s to be precise.

Cooked up the chicken & cheese one today for lunch, and it was pretty darn good.

It did get a little explody in the microwave, so eating it was a knife & fork affair, but I suspect you wouldn’t have this problem if you went with the defrost/bake option. (I did not have the time or patience for that.)

Give it a whirl, they’re usually in the organic section of the market.

Mmm, burritos.
Posted in Food | Tagged | Leave a comment

Yes, I am a bad person.

Yesterday at lunch I found myself Googling “last president to die in office of natural causes”… (FDR, if you were wondering.)

I just…don’t give a fuck about 45. I am wondering what happens if he dies or becomes incapacitated, but I don’t care about *him* at all. (Barron is the only one I have any sympathy for, as even if he hates his father, things are happening very fast and that has to be very unnerving.)

Maybe if 45 had actually tried to do anything about the pandemic, or cared about anyone affected by it, I’d feel differently. But I am very much in “you reap what you sow” mode right now.

Hell, our Governor got it – and I feel VERY differently about that, because imperfect person though he may be, Northam has taken this seriously from the start and actually attempted to keep it as under control as he could. (Especially hard given that 45 and his minions didn’t do jack shit.)

If 45 dies before the election – his hard core base may drop out, but the never Trumpers will flood back to the party, because all they really disliked about him was that he kept saying the quiet parts out loud. I don’t think they ever really had a problem with his policies and the party in general.

If he gets through this – and if he does, I expect he’ll be a long hauler given his age and general questionable health – and then loses the election? Hopefully he’ll have lost the will to fight the outcome.

And the fact that the super spreader event appears to be the SCOTUS nomination ceremony and R’s are popping positives left and right? As has been pointed out on Twitter more than a few times, RBG is still working from the other side. (Every time I see clips of that event, I am filled with rage.)

I feel very, very bad for all the non-political support personnel who have been exposed because 45 still had to do his damn trips and fundraisers and close contact events and shit, no masks or proper distancing, even though they KNEW this was a very bad idea.

AND NO ONE FROM 45’S ENTOURAGE WEARING MASKS AT THE DEBATE AND SHOWING UP LATE AND NOT GETTING THEIR TESTS DONE????? Those fuckers.

I swear to god, they had best be testing Biden every damn 12 hours for the next week.

Yeah, I am out of fucks to give for 45.

Posted in Politics | Tagged | Leave a comment

WE GET MORE BASEBALL!!

Somehow, the Padres put together an amazing bullpen game last night and shut out the Cardinals 4-0, and on we go to the NL division series!

If fans could have attended games this year….hoo boy, I suspect the seismic impacts would have shown on USGS sensors.

I broke down and bought a post-season Padres t-shirt. And because I got express shipping as I hope to have it before the end of the next series…I got a second Padres t-shirt to make the shipping worthwhile, LOL.

This has turned out to be such a fun season – I wish we all could have enjoyed it in person. It’s been a very bright spot in an otherwise shit year.

Posted in Baseball, San Diego Padres | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Made it to another Fuck It Friday!

And the Padres WON!!! last night in a hella comeback, so we have one more day of baseball.

They do so much better when they’re having fun!

Oh, and the President and First Lady caught the ‘rona. I have zero fucks to give about their health and well being, which is right in line with their level of care about the rest of us.

I *do* care about all the support personnel he probably infected in the past 3-5 days because that dipshit won’t wear masks or follow any safety protocols and has been all over the damn place doing fucking rallies, and those folks can’t opt out of their jobs.

In very small victories yesterday – here is Lily’s lovely new feeding station!

A black metal basket with cat food and treats
All the foods!

I whiffed a bit on the baskets – despite the fact that the specs clearly showed that they were square baskets, I thought they were rectangular. But – the other ones will still work for the counter from hell.

My brother took one look and said, “She has way too much food!” LOL. But all her food and treats are IN ONE SINGLE PLACE, and I can easily see when I need to pick up more of anything, which is better than the previous system which was “all of it all over the damn place in random bags from the grocery store.”

It may sound silly, but damn, that little corner of the kitchen is incredibly fucking soothing. Thank you Home Edit ladies for making me realize, “Heeeeey, I could use some baskets in the kitchen!” I’ll be doing the counter from hell this weekend.

Happy Fuck It Friday friends – you made it. Well done.

Posted in COVID19, Photos, San Diego Padres | Tagged , , | 1 Comment

It’s gonna be that kind of day…

The Padres lost, I can’t get the BBC on my cable, and I am realizing I need to go to the dentist in the middle of a pandemic.

Yay.

While I’m assuming my dentist is doing all the proper protocols, I’m gonna be checking on the specifics for that when I call. I mean, right before they did the temp shutdown, they did say they were following WHO protocols (whatever those were 6 months ago) I’d like to be sure.

I mean, fuck, I’ve worked too hard to not catch this shit to get it at the dentist of all places.

Well, I guess I’ll get to use that 2020 flex spending money after all… And at least it will be easy to get an afternoon off for the appointment, thank you new gig.

Posted in Rants | Tagged | Leave a comment

I didn’t watch the debate

I usually don’t – in any campaign, by the time these come around, my mind is already well made up and this time around, hell, I’ve already voted. Also, who wants to watch people yell at each other for two hours?

I “watched” via Twitter – it’s the easiest way to catch the high (low?) points and I won’t throw my phone through my TV. Also – I cannot stand listening to 45.

When he put out his call to violence to his little Nazi buddies, well, that’s the exact moment I would have thrown my phone through the television set.

Yo, media – stop calling that a “failure to condemn white supremacy” – IT WAS A CALL TO VIOLENCE.

And the moderators not even attempting fact checks? That bullshit has to go immediately, cause letting so much of 45’s bullshit fly unchecked gives it legitimacy.

And fuck if I didn’t send Biden’s campaign $12 after the debate if for no other reason than telling 45 to shut up. (If Hillary had done that, I suspect she would have been escorted off the stage.)

Biden needs to win by a landslide and we need to flip the Senate, in an unmistakable rejection of everything 45 and the GOP represents. If we can’t, well I don’t even know what we do then.

I’ll be working on postcards this week.

Posted in Politics | Tagged | Leave a comment