Survived the dentist!

And bless his heart, he did the bare minimum to get me in and out, which was also WAY CHEAPER than going all out. And I don’t have to go back until May.

Of course, I have a frog in the back of my throat this morning and I know it’s because a) dental work always messes with my sinuses a bit and b) it’s raining, but NOT TODAY, SATAN, NOT TODAY.

We have today off for Veterans Day, and I can’t help but think about all the active duty folks who do *not* have today off. Pretty fucked up.

Technically it’s a floating holiday for us, so I may log on for a few hours this afternoon and split the holiday time between today & yesterday to cover the dentist appointment. Also, I realized last night that a testing set I started yesterday, I don’t really like how I did it and I really should restart it, and that’s going to bother me, so…

It’s not like I had anything else going on today and I’d say I slept in a bit, but I woke up before 8 without my alarm even going off. ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

Or, seeing as how it’s already noon and my ass is firmly glued to the couch (where did the morning go?) – maybe it will just be a quiet, non-working day. And re-starting that test run really won’t take up that much extra time since I know exactly how I want to approach it now.

In Covid news, I swear to god, if I see another post about folks getting their hair done… And the eating outside…in tents…that have walls…

I totally understand wanting to not eat on the couch out of a styrofoam container anymore. I understand wanting to have a meal with friends and family. My god, I understand needing a haircut.

BUT FOLKS, WE CAN’T DO THIS RIGHT NOW. JUST…DON’T. Keep getting takeout! Give yourself a bad dye job at home! Skip that birthday party, no matter how “small” it is.

I know so many folks who have been hunkered down and basically stayed in Phase 1 of wherever they live since mid-March, if not earlier. (I’ve hovered in between 1-2 myself.) And damn if it doesn’t feel like it’s been for absolutely nothing.

Posted in COVID19, Miscellany | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Thank You To Our Veterans

I appreciate the sacrifice both you and your families have made in service of our country.

I’m trying to get you a government that does as well.

Posted in Holidays | Tagged | Leave a comment

Totes normal

To be a week post-election and have more foreign leaders recognizing Biden as President-elect than Republicans in the US. I think we’re up to 4 R’s acknowledging the outcome of the election.

Dreamt I was moving to New Zealand last night and was very excited about that. Also very, very normal.

Oh, and that split on who is worried I mentioned yesterday – I realized most of those who aren’t worried and have faith in the process & courts – mostly secure white men. They’re not being dicks about it, but yeah, that’s a position where it is much easier to feel confident in the systems – because if the systems fail, they’ll be OK.

Folks who definitely will not be OK? They’re worried and understandably so – they see and have felt everything 45 has gotten away with in the past 4 years.

I still don’t think we’ll get a proper concession out of 45, which isn’t legally necessary, so that isn’t the end of the world. But we need the fucking R’s in this country to step the fuck up and essentially concede on his behalf and shut the fuck up about “illegal ballots” – we all know that means black voters.

And Lindsey Fucking Graham. Jackass *won* his race, but it’s all fraud? I legit do not understand why he is still all in on Trump. Whatever he has on Graham – given the past 4 years, I doubt it would even last a full news cycle. Let him go, you can still be a racist, obstructionist POS without him.

Third go at my dental appointment today – looks like anger may drown out anxiety…

Posted in Politics | Tagged | Leave a comment

Well, we got what, 36 hours?

And things quickly started sliding right back into the shit.

We do have some really good news on a vaccine from Pfizer, so that’s something.

45 won’t concede – that I expected, he’s a dick. But for reasons I really cannot fathom, the R’s are backing him up. I get no one really *wants* to concede the Presidency – but they don’t need him, I doubt most of them actually like him, and I don’t think he’s helping them at all – so, just rip off the band-aid and be done with it. They can continue to be a pain in everyones ass without 45.

And Purdue & Loeffler want the SoS of Georgia to resign, because, reasons. (We know – black folks got out and voted, and we can’t have that.) Hell, they both get a damn do over in January.

My Twitter feed is a 50/50 split between, “it’s a shitshow, but it will be OK” to “it’s a shitshow and it’s very much not going to be OK”.

Remember when presidential transitions were really, really fucking boring?

Posted in Politics | Tagged | 1 Comment

Can I extend my weekend just for one extra day??

Cause while the overwhelming emotional feeling I’m having is relief, the overwhelming physical thing I’m feeling is SO TIRED.

I’ve started drafting my “bitch, you better get some shit DONE” letters to my representatives, the DNC, and the President-Elect.

Also trying to figure out the best way to help in Georgia, besides not giving to Project Lincoln. Seriously, don’t give to them – if you want to send money, give it to the folks that have been on the ground there for years. Here’s a list of a few of them.

My big exciting outings today were to get stocked on paper products since I’m hearing rumblings of potential shortages again (just like at the end of February, it felt silly, but it also paid off) and a run into Total Wine for some Alewerks beers – we’ve been on a Sam Adams streak since summer shandies went away, and I’m ready to switch it up.

Best part – the Aleworks beers are right near the front of the store so I was in and out in no time at all. (They occasionally show up at my grocery store, but it’s very hit or miss.)

So, we’ve got some Tavern Brown Ale, Weekend Lager, and Protocol Porter. Their winter Coffeehouse Porter is great, too and should be popping up in stores here soon. I also grabbed a 4 pack of Gingerbread Spiced Stout by Guinness – one of those that could be great, or awful, but I am definitely intrigued.

Next to our Total Wine is a Talbots outlet shop. I cannot tell you how much I wanted to just go in and wander around and browse and…damn I miss that dumb stuff. (It’s never an under 15 minute affair in there, much like Target.)

Maybe this time next year my weekend will be breakfast at my diner, a beer run where I’m not dashing in and out at top speed, a nice long stroll through the Talbots store, a fucking haircut, and some fancy assed cocktails at my bar. Hell, maybe just spend an hour standing in the middle of Target just because I can.

But for now…it’s dash in and out everywhere, drinks at home, carryout, and very long and weirdly colored hair.

Posted in Miscellany | Tagged | Leave a comment

And now, a note for Biden voters

THANK YOU.

Especially those in red states – it must have felt futile, but THANK YOU.

To every volunteer, organizer, phone banker (sorry I never answered), text banker, lit dropper, and canvasser who got out the vote: THANK YOU.

To everyone that had faith we could do better and acted on it with their vote: THANK YOU.

To everyone who worked the elections and polling locations to make them safe for us to cast our votes – THANK YOU. (I know these aren’t necessarily Biden voters. No matter.)

And to the folks that had to try and count votes with folks breathing down their necks (again, I know, not necessarily Biden voters) – THANK YOU. (And I know you’re still counting.)

I know we still have lots of work to do. But, let’s celebrate getting that first really big step done. (I’ll admit, my overriding emotion is relief above all else.)

75 million of you.

75 million who said No More.

75 million who believe we can do better.

75 freaking million.

THANK YOU.

Posted in Pleasant Things, Politics | Tagged , | Leave a comment

A note to Trump voters

This is my olive branch, and my words are sincere.

Nothing in a Biden/Harris administration is going to hurt you. Really. The socialist hellscape that you’ve been promised – it isn’t going to happen. It just isn’t.

Yes, if you’re making more than 400K a year, your taxes are probably going to go up. But, you’re making over 400K a year, so you’re doing pretty well already, so good job!

Once we have a Covid19 vaccine – you’ll be able to get it knowing it’s been properly researched and tested and not rushed out for political gains.

Cabinet secretaries that aren’t walking conflicts of interest – having people in charge of those agencies that want them to work and work well rather than tearing them down and profiting off their failure – that’s a good thing.

Rejoining the WHO and the Paris Climate Accord – good things that won’t adversely impact you. Being part of an international effort to keep people healthy everywhere – not a bad thing. Working to protect the environment and do what we can to mitigate climate change – again, good things. (Wouldn’t you like a few less hurricanes, droughts, and wildfires?)

And speaking of hurricanes and such – you will not hear from this administration is “fuck em, they’re a red state” when a disaster strikes and you need help. You’ll get help.

Improving the Affordable Care Act – helps all of us.

And the Post Office! (OK, this is Congressional/Executive combo work, but still.) If you have a business and ship things – don’t you want a working Post Office again? Having someone in charge who isn’t profiting off its downfall – a good thing.

Helping refugees and asylum seekers won’t hurt you – we have the resources to help these people who are literally fleeing for their *lives* – this won’t negatively impact you. Keeping families *together* when they make it here – again, not going to hurt you.

$15 minimum wage – this is good for everyone! Workers having more money to spend is GOOD. Inflationary impacts have been minimal (if at all) in places that have implemented it. Folks not having to struggle is GOOD for everyone.

Yes, he’s got lots of plans that are targeted to folks who are not you. But it’s not a zero-sum game. Someone else getting help won’t hurt you. And if you need help? Ask!

Four years of people getting hurt over, and over, and over. We’re not doing that anymore.

Posted in Politics | Tagged | Leave a comment

OK, now I can breathe.

Electoral map showing Joe Biden with 279 Electoral College votes
Posted in Politics | Tagged | 2 Comments

Dumbest Timeline

Over a 4 million difference in vote counts and the election is still ongoing.

We’re looking at an automatic recount in Georgia, and PA, NV & AZ are still counting.

And we’re looking at TWO runoffs in Georgia, so it’s going to be January before we know what the Senate will look like.

We’ve had two Q-Anon nuts arrested with guns, and a separate bomb threat up in Philly, a poll worker doxed in Detroit and folks in Maricopa that are convinced that rental cars belonging to the press are trucking in ballots.

What. The. Fuck. I have participated in 30 years of elections, many where my candidate of choice lost. Somehow, I’ve never lost my shit like this.

I will say, it’s different that it’s not coming down to Florida and Ohio for once.

At least 4 more people have popped positive for Covid at the White House – including the Chief of Staff. I wonder if 45 will end up reinfected…

And their coworkers only found out through the media!

I can’t think of anyone worse to have in the White House for this current infection surge. 45 won’t do anything and it’s going to be really, REALLY bad. And that fucker is golfing again today.

And at least 70 million people have looked at the last 4 years and said, “Yeah, I want more of that.” I know it’s the racism & white supremacy. I know it – and yet, I have such a hard time wrapping my head around it. How can you have so little care for others? How can you be so consumed by preserving the advantage of whiteness that you can just watch people die?

How can you be *that* selfish?

I don’t want the Democrats to waste time on trying to change them. I want them to tear down every systemic and institutional barrier to voting for non-whites in this country, and I want them to go precinct by precinct and ask every single organizer: What does your community need? And then act on it.

We cannot have non-white communities saving us from ourselves yet again and then just treat them as nothing more than a vote to be courted. We can’t just care during the election cycle. I want people to go to the polls going “Fuck yeah, I’m voting blue, they helped my community” not just “Fuck, well, we sure as shit don’t want that other candidate.”

Win or lose, we have so much work to do. But what good work it will be.

Posted in COVID19, Politics | Tagged , | Leave a comment

But what if 45 barricades himself in the White House?!

Seeing this popping up here and there. Did a quick tweet on it, but I have a few more thoughts.

So, he sits down, folds his arms and says, “Nope, not leaving.”

Fine.

Regardless of if he concedes or not, if he packs up and heads out of town or not – if* Biden wins, on inauguration day, Joe Biden is the President, whether 45 likes it or not.

He can be President from Wilmington, the Hay Adams Presidential Suite, Air Force One, Camp David – wherever. (Camp David probably the easiest non-White House place to do it, Air Force One the coolest.)

45 will no longer have any say in White House operations. Send the building staff home (with pay) and update the building access list to…nobody. Cut the cable and internet and phones – have one outgoing line he can call when he’s ready to go back to Mar-a-Lago. Cut the power to everywhere but the residence. He can wander around and figure out how to make a peanut butter sandwich and yell at the ceiling and be sad and angry and not President.

His Cabinet Secretaries, sycophants though they may be – they won’t stick around. I don’t see any of them refusing to leave their offices. (I suspect some would very much like to be done with all this now.) Zero concerns about military leadership – once the oath of office is done, 45 is someone they can and will ignore.

Would it all be a very embarrassing shitshow if he decides to lock himself in the White House and threaten to hold his breath until he turns blue? Of course it would be.

Would it change the outcome of the election? Nope.

*Yes, still saying If.

Posted in Politics | Tagged | Leave a comment