Happy Weekend!

I hope your weekend is as good as mine has been so far. I am very contented and full of food already.

Yesterday, I took advantage of the early work release and hit Target for the first time since before the pandemic. (I think? I don’t remember going any other time this summer.) Thankfully they have not rearranged the store in that time. Checked for headsets for work – they had some on display that you could try on – I picked up a set, and WHOA, SUPER COMFY. Looked at the tag – I had picked out the top of the line Bose that go for $300. HAHAHAHAHAHA, no.

Did score some new bedpillows – I’d ordered a pair off the internet and well, I’ll not do that again. (Return label is being processed on that lapse in judgement.) Should have known to just go to Target in the first place. Did manage to resist the urge to buy a few more bath sheets, but only because the stock was pretty low thanks to kids going back to college.

GAWD, I HAVE MISSED GOING TO TARGET.

Then off to Kohl’s to do the Amazon return dropoff – and they give you $5 of Kohls cash. Well, I couldn’t let *that* go to waste, could I? Got a nice pair of Under Armour leggings that will be nice for yoga. I have missed Kohl’s, too.

Finally Staples in the headset quest – found a nice pair of Altec Lansings – bluetooth, 26 hours on a charge, microphone, noise canceling that can be turned on/off and most critical, comfortable. I’ll give them a week tryout – keeping my fingers crossed that these will work. They are “full over the ear” style, so they look goofy as hell, but I’m never on video, so, it’s fine.

And today has been all about not cooking. Market for cheese and salami and crackers to snack on, then the butcher shop for 3 containers of their really great BBQ (one for tonight, two for the freezer.) They also have a wide variety of wild boar sausage, and I will say I am intrigued and may have to try some at some point.

And right next to the butcher shop is a Potbelly. Couldn’t pass up the opportunity to get my favorite Ham & Swiss, and some of their mac & cheese.

So, I am basically warm, fat and happy, and that’s a nice place to be. Debating if the next activity will be a stitching or a nap.

I really need to win the lottery so every day can be like this.

Posted in Miscellany | Leave a comment

Another Friday

And you made it – and this week, that is certainly not nothing. Covid, Ida, and Texas just to name a few things trying to send us to the great beyond.

But, it’s a long weekend and management is booting us out early today, so it’s not all bad.

I’ve had a productive week on the non-work side of things. Car picked up, dropped off insurance, dropped off state/county registers, plates surrendered, and coverage seriously upped on the new Jeep.

Tons of progress made on the stitching! Even if I did just now manage to lose the back of the needleminder when I took the piece out for the picture…

Work in Progress - Cross Stitch of the Governors Palace in Williamsburg Virginia

Very grateful for the early out today, since I have to go to Kohl’s to do an Amazon return and that will definitely be easier than on a weekend. The quest for a new headset that doesn’t squeeze my head to the point of a headache continues.

Big plans for the weekend are stitching and housework and generally chilling the fuck out.

You have a great day.

Posted in Miscellany | Leave a comment

Bye, Ida

You’ll not be forgotten anytime soon. Though to look outside, you’d be hard pressed to know anything happened – sunny, cool and dry. We got SO lucky – the bulk of it skipped just north of us – we got about an hour of rain Tuesday night, but it came in these little waves – 5 minutes of rain, 10 minutes of quiet – not good for sleeping, but the basement stayed dry. And last evening, again, only a few little waves again. And we’ve got a few days of not having to stay glued to the weather radar.

Watching the flooding up in NJ/NY, yikes. And suddenly I don’t feel like a failed homeowner for the basement getting wet a few weeks back when we got 3″ of rain in an hour.

Still super pissed about everything in Texas and Senate Democrats just wringing their hands. I tossed a donation to my delegate, Kathy Tran, and my neighbor delegate, Danica Roem. Though I don’t think either seat is in danger, I want to help keep Virginia blue – we’ve done SO many good things since we flipped the legislature, and I’d prefer not to go back 50 years. I’ve got to do some research this weekend and see if there are any other contested seats in the state that actually look like they have a chance at flipping.

I have a hard time expressing how infurating it is to have to pay money for good governance. And knowing it’s just a drop in the bucket compared to the size of the wallets that evil fucks seem to have access to.

Well, time to go grind those gears for capitalism and pretend the world isn’t shit.

Posted in News, Politics, Weather | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

What a fucking week.

The Texas state legislature, 5th Circuit and a majority of SCOTUS sure do hate people that can get pregnant. Lots of sympathetic and angry words out of politicians, but words don’t do shit. Every state with a R legislature is just chomping at the bit to follow Texas’ lead.

I don’t even know what the fuck to do other than throw money at abortion fund networks. (I’ve supported progressive candidates and organizations on the local, state, and federal level in my district, outside my district, inside & outside my state – and we’re still here, so I really don’t know what the fuck to do.)

Oh, and let’s not forget the hurricane, countless number of folks still in harms way with that, from the folks down south with no power/water/anything to a tornado hitting Annapolis and another possible in Philly this evening. (Looks like we’re in the clear if the stuff south of us stays on the other side of I-95 – we got very lucky here.)

It would be a good night to say fuck it, we’re gonna have a hangover in the morning and hit the bar – but oh wait, there is still a pandemic, and no one is doing jack shit about that either other than gently begging people to get vaccinated.

I’m just very tired of the folks in charge either being fuck all evil, or just standing there going, “Gosh, this is awful.”

Posted in COVID19, News, Politics | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Morning got here extra early

Tow company came to pick up my dear old Jeep – they called yesterday and said I was first on the pickup list, scheduled for 6AM. Ouch. He rolled up at 5-ohmygod-30. But, I’d set my alarm, I was already half-awake, so I stumbled my sleepy ass out there and told him to knock himself out, no need to wait. He thanked me for letting him do the pickup so early – I’m happy to have it crossed off the list, and hopefully it will get some good money at auction for the charity. If nothing else, there is a good amount of scrap steel in there.

She was an excellent car (and so much more than just scrap steel) – 18 solid years, the first car I ever bought totally on my own, lots of adventures – I will miss her.

I dread seeing what daylight brings to the gulf coast this morning – by all accounts, Ida was devastating – BBC is saying a million people are without power – that’s not going to be restored quickly, either. (And why do the flood pumps not have generators?) Watching folks call out for help on Twitter last night was utterly gut wrenching. God bless the Cajun Navy, and fuck this country for needing it. Having to crowdsource disaster relief is such an utterly fucked American thing. And fuck everyone in Republican leadership who has said climate change isn’t real.

On a less depressing note, I finally invested in a stitching stand, and holy shit, this makes everything so much easier with cross stitching. Being able to use both hands makes things quicker, there seems to be less fatigue, and I feel like a fancy lady of yore using it, LOL. The cross stitch ornament kits I ordered at the start of the pandemic may actually get done for this Christmas.

My non-work to do list is again very short today, so I’m hoping I can get it all knocked out like I did yesterday and I can just enjoy the evening and stitch and not be on Twitter. Don’t get me wrong, I *love* Twitter, but the doomscrolling isn’t good for me. (Or anyone for that matter…)

Well, I’m gonna go start work early if for no other reason, I’ll get out early. You have a great day and I hope you didn’t have to get up at 5:30 after getting to sleep after midnight.

I think I’ll refill my coffee first…

Posted in Adulting, Miscellany, News | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

OK, now I am extra glad I got the car tended to yesterday.

Cause I’ve had a really productive day (well, for me) and it’s 4PM and I don’t have to even *think* about the car, which is so nice, cause I don’t have much “get shit done” left in me today.

I intentionally kept my to do list short today, cause I know when it gets too long, I just go into vapor lock and then nothing at all gets done.

But today, I did good. Plates off the car, litter box tended to, dishes done and dishwasher running, washload of masks and towels going, plants watered and rotated, took my vitamins, washed my face, and grocery store run done.

Dinner is even sorted! We’re going super easy – Buitoni Sweet Italian Sausage Tortelloni with some alfredo sauce. God bless whoever it was in product development who said, “What if we made fresh pasta that folks could have in the fridge so they could have stuffed pasta at home that doesn’t come out of a can?”

And now I can spend time working on this:

Cross stitch project of the Governors Mansion in Williamsburg Virginia
Stabby time!
Posted in Adulting, Needle Arts, Photos | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

Yo…..

Overcast Sunday here – not sure if it matches my somewhat subdued mood today or caused it, but here we are.

But, I’ve got coffee and hit up Dunkin’ this morning so I can stress eat donuts all day. Donuts are such a small-big joy – I seriously become a kid again when I walk in there – chocolate frosted WITH SPRINKLES?! YES, PLEASE! Also, I don’t know who needs to know this, but the maple bacon snackers are back. (I may have just sat in the car and eaten them before even leaving the parking lot.)

In “make this make sense” stuff – MetLife has processed my dental claim that was submitted on Thursday. Literally a 2 day turnaround. I’m very happy, but given that the time frame for them to process shit is 2 days to 5 months, it’s a little weird. (Watch it take them 2 months to pass the info on to the flex spending people…)

On a civic duty note, I’ve written the Governor yet again asking that they reinstate mask mandates. Our cases counts make it obvious that the honor system for masking isn’t working, and our vaccination rates are flat, so as much as we may want to vaccinate our way out of Delta, we don’t have time to wait for more employer vaccination mandates. I’m just so pissed watching the anti-mask/anti-vax asshats do whatever the fuck they want and causing this pandemic to just keep going when it absolutely does not have to.

And then there is Hurricane Ida – my lord, the universe is a cruel place to have it hit on the anniversary of Katrina. I’m so worried for the folks who couldn’t evacuate. On the radio this morning they were saying that they’ve made improvements to the levee systems, but no one wants this stress test on them. At least we don’t have a president who will throw paper towels at them.

Now, I am going to try to get some adulting done around here, since I got all the car stuff done yesterday, the to-do list is much lighter. (Thank you yesterday me.) Hopefully it will keep my mind off the awfulness of the world.

Headshot of Lily, a black and orange tortoiseshell cat, poking her head out from under a blanket
Same, LilyMonster, same.

Posted in Miscellany | Leave a comment

Dear tomorrow me

The car is all cleaned out. All you have to do Sunday evening is remove the license plates. Enjoy your day.

Very happy it’s done, took about an hour an a half all told (there was a LOT of crap in that car) and I had to do it in 10 minute increments because it was very fucking hot out there this afternoon.

Figured out one neat thing you can do when you’re cleaning out a car – even if you’re not going anywhere, you can still start the engine and run the AC so you’re not working in an oven. Wish I’d realized that right at the start.

It is not perfect, but it is well beyond good enough and it is DONE. And I am happy for that, because it means I can enjoy the rest of the evening with zero guilt.

Time to go draw some kitty faces on graph paper for the LilyMonster’s quilt.

Posted in Miscellany | Leave a comment

🎶 🎶 🎶 Oh what a beautiful moooooooorning! 🎶 🎶 🎶

Yes, the world is falling apart around us, but right now, the sun is shining, the birds are singing and it’s a lovely 79º degrees out there, which is a nice change from the legit 100º we hit yesterday when I was out running errands.

And though I need another craft like I need a hole in the head – I am making the LilyMonster a quilt! I’ve had the itch to try quilting for YEARS and I’ve resisted it – but I was poking around the JoAnn Fabrics website and they had the Singer Patchwork Quilting machine on sale for 44%!! off* – I decided it was a sign from the universe to just give in. So, got the machine, a cutting mat, and a bunch of fat quarters and she’s going to have a special blankie.

Series of yellow, orange, and tan patterned fabric patches
Fat quarters are fun! So many colors!

I think I’m going to do a variation on this cat block pillow pattern – the ears & chin aren’t exact half triangles though, which makes it harder, so I’ll be changing that so everything is squared off. No sense in frustrating myself with odd shapes the first go at it.

I’ve also discovered the joy of instant download cross-stitch patterns on Etsy! Did I *need* more holiday patterns? No. Do I have more holiday patterns? Yes, yes I do.

It’s shaping up to be a long, ugly fall and winter – the county went to High community transmission this week, our vaccination numbers are utterly flat, and I keep seeing idiots without masks when I’m out and about. It’s so disheartening to watch all the progress of the spring just be undone.

So, might as well have some hobby type things to keep me occupied. Granted, there will be a challenge in getting my brain to cooperate, but I need to learn to stop doom scrolling Twitter, cause it does me no good.

Sadly, before I can do any of the fun stuff, some adulting has to get done around here, namely, getting the car cleared out for Monday’s pickup. I know it won’t take terribly long, but I don’t want to do it, but I also don’t want to be doing it tomorrow night, so I am going to do a favor for tomorrow me. I hope she appreciates it.

* I suppose the large markdown could mean that it’s a crap machine, but I’m guessing Singer is getting ready to come out with a new model.

Posted in COVID19, Mental Health, Miscellany, Needle Arts | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Goooooood Morning

Once again, you defied it all and made it to Friday – give yourself a pat on the back.

We’re off to a rip roaring start here with the cable being all effed up and – wait, it’s suddenly working again and I have BBC. Refresh & reboot did do the trick after all. I’d like to think the cable box went, “Oh shit, she’s gonna bitch on the internet about this, better get things straight!”

This morning on the way home from Starbucks, I found new buttons on my car! They’re very subtle, but they’re there, and they work – on the *back* of the steering wheel – you can switch the radio from AM/FM/Sirius/Phone, control the volume and switch the stations. My hand to god, I read the manual and did not see this. I LOVE IT. I’d actually been thinking it was a shame the radio didn’t have steering wheel controls – they were there the whole time. Glad I found them now and not, IDK, 10 years down the road.

And in other car & adulting stuff, the replacement title for the old car arrived, I scheduled the pickup for Monday, and my weekend project is clearing the last of the crap out of the old car. Wheeeeee! And possibly jumping the battery – I haven’t tried to start it in a month and I did tell them it was running when I scheduled the pickup. (I did say I wouldn’t try and drive it on a 500 mile road trip…)

Welp, time to go knock out the day so we can get the weekend started – you have a great and safe day.

Posted in Miscellany | Leave a comment