One down, one to go

Congrats to Reverend Senator Elect Warnock! Heard on the radio we know about Ossoff/Perdue by noon today – and that one is going probably going to end up in recount territory. Gawd, I hope Ossoff wins, because McConnell will be even meaner and more heartless this time around if he is still the Majority Leader.

DC is going to be a shitshow today and I am so very glad I didn’t move downtown when I was entertaining the idea some years ago when I was much younger.

I realize this does not speak well to my character, but watching the idiots that have come into town playing fuck around and find out with the Metro PD – that has been something… They’re talking about trying to get into the Capitol – yeah, let me know how that works out for you.

And then you have the shitshow *inside* the Capitol. The certification is going to take fucking forever because Republicans are going to fucking challenge shit left and right to no avail – and Pence isn’t going to suddenly do A THING and change the results. 45 is going to be a fucking nightmare today. (Not that makes it anything other than a day ending in y, but…)

My brother is away for a few days catsitting for a friend who had to leave town for a “can’t be solved via zoom” emergency. I’m a little jealous – he gets 4 new walls to stare at and a whole new set of takeout options. But – I do have the house to myself and guess who will be making some salmon this week? Possibly multiple times?

I’m going to go try and get some work done and not think about what hangs in the balance in Georgia.

Posted in Personal, Politics | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Come ooooooonnnnn, Georgia!

Please, for the love of all that’s good and holy, put Ossoff & Warnock in office. We all deserve a Congress that will help everyone – not just rich, white motherfuckers.

Seriously, we cannot have a Senate with Mitch McConnell in charge anymore. We just cannot. If we want any chance at all of reversing the damage of the past 4 years – this is it.

Everything from state & local funding for the vaccine rollout to survival checks to worker protections to just…basic decency in how government treats its people.

I’m ready for a real change – I hope there are enough folks in Georgia who feel the same – though I am steeling myself for yet another massive disappointment.

But maybe, just maybe – we can start 2021 with something really good.

Posted in Politics | Tagged | Leave a comment

Brains are stupid

So, my nose/sinuses are bothering me a bit today. I know it’s because the upstairs humidity doesn’t even hit 30% this time of year, and I’ve been forgetting to fill and turn on the humidifier overnight.

I know this. I’ve already filled the humidifier and have it running and I can already feel the difference. (We’ve gone from 29% to 33% in mere minutes.)

And yet, my brain is going, “Hope you like the side of Covid that came with your phone!”

The amount of time it took to get the phone yesterday was ridiculous, and T-Mobile really needs to figure out how to speed that up, pandemic or not.

My brain doesn’t need help coming up with terrible scenarios.

Posted in COVID19, Rants, Uncategorized | Tagged , | Leave a comment

A bleary eyed happy Monday to you

Too much news & stress yesterday and I did not sleep for shit. Not the ideal way to start off a full 5 day, no early-outs week.

That call that 45 made to Georgia’s Secretary of State is just…nuts. Typical and possibly criminal, but seriously, just batshit. And if it’s like everything else in the last four years – there will be zero consequences, which is maddening.

I’m glad they sent the recording to the Post – but they only did it because 45 tweeted and lied about it – if he’d been quiet, they wouldn’t have said anything, which doesn’t speak particularly well for Georgia officials either.

But hey, to all those Republicans who are looking for fraud, I think we’ve found it. Still wanna show your ass on Wednesday?

And I don’t know about you, but I wonder what he’s said on other calls in the past 6 months. OK, past 5 years.

January 20th cannot get here soon enough. Sure, we’ll still be dealing with a ton of fallout from this administration, but we need to get this man out of office. You know he’s going to still be scrambling to stay the morning of the 20th – who knows what else he’s going to try.

I know that none of it will matter – Biden can be sworn in on his front porch and work from Camp David, and 45 will not be President anymore. His cabinet secretaries aren’t going to barricade themselves in their offices, and the military will be happy to see his ass out the door. (Hell, as far as the agencies go, I think there are career staffers who would gleefully carry cabinet secretaries to the front door.)

But the chaos he’s gonna try to sow over the next 16 days. That’s going to be ugly. (Not that the last 4 years haven’t been ugly as fuck, but still.)

So, on that cheery note, I’m going to go pretend like everything is fine so I can grind those gears for capitalism. Yay, America.

Posted in Politics | Tagged | Leave a comment

Quick Lily

Lily, a black and orange tortoiseshell cat, laying on a fleece blanket
New phone camera
Posted in Lily, Pets, Photos | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

Well, I have a new phone

Given the choice between paying a ridiculous deductible to get a non-widescreen obsolete replacement or paying a reasonable amount for a new up to date phone that will even work with 5G when it comes around that I could take home immediately, well…

Now the whole evening has been downloading apps and trying to get used to a different keyboard.

Posted in Miscellany | Tagged | Leave a comment

Oh, FFS

Made the appointment w/the nice and close T-Mobile store and they called and said they can’t help me and I will have to go to one of the “Sprint Repair Centers” where I know from experience, they can’t fix this and won’t do an instant exchange, so have to go a half hour away to still not have a phone for a week. (And if it’s like last time, they won’t ship the new phone to me, I’ll have to go back and pick the damn thing up.)

I have made a new appointment, and at least there is a “repair center” that is slightly closer than the last one I went to, so that is something, and I’m going to be positive and consider that maybe, just maybe, they can do an instant exchange, or at least ship a new phone to me so I don’t have to make yet another trip out there.

At least the local store called right away so I will not be scrambling to get to the other store before they close. And I know my work 2FA is still linked to my landline phone, so I’ll be able to log on to work tomorrow. (And I just double checked and the handset on that is charged up.)

But sheesh. And if they’re trying to make it such a pain in the ass that I consider just saying fuck it and shelling out for a new phone I can have within 48 hours – well done, cause it’s definitely crossing my mind.

The other downside – no idea what phone I’ll be getting. The last time, it was my HTC that shit the bed, and I did get another HTC, but it was a different model, which I really didn’t like and ended up trading in as soon as I hit my upgrade window. I have a Samsung S9+ and I’ve really liked it – and of course it’s not sold anymore, nor are S10+ or S20+, even refurbished, so who knows what I’ll end up with.

At least this time it’s right *after* a holiday, not right before. And I’ll remember to ask if I can get a loaner phone – that would make it worth having to go back out there again.

I LOVE ADULTING.

Posted in Rants | Tagged | Leave a comment

Ugh, I don’t wanna…

So, I just realized my cell phone is doing the puffy battery thing – last time it happened, I took it to the Sprint Repair Center all to hell and gone from here, and they took one look and said “not fixable!” and took the phone and sent it back to Sprint and Sprint sent me a new one, since I had insurance on it. Which took the better part of a week, because now that I’m thinking about it – it was right around New Year’s – and looking back, it was December 28, 2017, cause I also had to DM Sprint about it.

Well, Sprint is now T-Mobile, and I am not fucking around with going to the next county to tell me they have to send it in anyway, and there is a standalone T-Mobile shop less than 3 miles from here – they can take certainly one look at it and say “not fixable!” and send it in for replacement.

Sure, there is a snowball’s chance in hell they’ll just let me exchange it immediately, but I won’t be holding my breath.

At least I can make an appointment ahead of time, and these are not usually crowded places.

But, sheesh, I really don’t wanna.

Posted in Rants | Tagged | Leave a comment

On a sillier note

LOOK WHAT ARRIVED TODAY!!

A Baby Yoda plush, in a space pram
I LOVE HIM!

Seriously, my spring 2020 plans were to go to the local Build A Bear to get this for myself. And well, we know what happened to all our spring plans.

So, my brother got me a Build A Bear gift card for Christmas – and then I discovered that YOU CAN ORDER THEM ONLINE!! And the space pram is an online only bit. :-D

So, I finally have my Baby Yoda, and didn’t have to wait to go to a mall for it.

Also – finished up the second season of the Mandalorian this week – no spoilers here, it was just great and they wrapped things up nicely.

Posted in Good Things, Photos | Tagged , | Leave a comment

How about NO?

I’m seeing rumblings of changing the vaccine rollout and delaying second doses.

It’s a whole thread he’s got there, and maybe he can rethink it, but I am firmly in the OH FUCKING HELL NO camp.

Two things he calls out are the new variant, and the fact that people won’t change their behavior.

IF PEOPLE WOULDN’T BE SELFISH STUPID ASSHOLES, THE VARIANT WOULDN’T BE NEARLY AS MUCH OF A PROBLEM.

I have been on my goddamned best pandemic behavior for the last 9 1/2 months. Last indoor meal at a restaurant was March fucking first. The last time I hugged another person was March 13th.

I’m already at the end of the line cause I work at home, and I’m not in a risk group. I am OK with that. But now, it may be even longer before I can be fully vaccinated because other people won’t fucking do the right thing and our various levels of government have basically gone ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

And yeah, I’m mad for me, but also enraged for health care workers, and essential employees that NEED a fucking full vaccination as soon as possible, not even more garbage half measures.

And we don’t even know what the actual effect of delaying a second dose would be.

The good news is that Dr. Fauci is not on board with this, and the CDC hasn’t changed guidelines yet. But jesus, every medical professional and scientist should be screaming at the top of their collective lungs that we need to fucking get our shit together and do this RIGHT for a change.

America, where we will half-ass shit and hurt everyone because, freedom.

Posted in COVID19, Rants | Tagged , | Leave a comment