It ain’t easy being an East Coast fan of a West Coast team

I love my Padres, but extra innings on weeknights are going to be the death of me. BUT WE BEAT THE DODGERS!

In bed after midnight, with a 3AM wakeup courtesy of Lily and in the blink of an eye, it was 7AM and time to drag myself out of bed. I hope no one needs me to be extra smart at work today, cause I’m not sure I’ve got it in me.

Woke up to an internet outage courtesy of the router also apparently not wanting to get up either. Got that fixed once I realized what it was. And whatever the last update to Quicken for Mac was, it was shit and the performance has degraded to the point where it’s close to useless. THANKS, INTUIT.

Time to go fake my way through the day like I got more than 5 hours of sleep. HAHAHAHAHA.

Posted in Miscellany | Leave a comment

Pfizer Shot #1 done!

And though I feel like the *last* person to be getting the vaccination, only half the folks in my county have gotten a shot, so I figured I’d write up the Northern Virginia Walgreens Pfizer Experience on the off chance it helps someone feel a little more comfortable about getting their vaccine.

First, if you’re looking for an appointment at Walgreens, set up an account with them first – it will save you some time when you’re actually scheduling it, and then you can download their app and have the info on your phone.

The appointment process was very straightforward and they scheduled both the first & second dose at the same time.

The appointment confirmation email will also have a link to a consent form you can download and fill out & print. If you do not have a printer, they have forms at the pharmacy, so you don’t have to worry about that.

When you get to the pharmacy, just go to the pharmacy window and they’ll take your name (they didn’t even ask for the appointment confirmation #, so if you forget to bring it, it’s OK.)

Then they take your consent form (or give you a blank one) and give you a printout that is the receipt for the vaccine, and you sit and chill out a bit until the pharmacist is ready to do the shots. We waited maybe 5-10 minutes. (We were early.)

The injection itself was super easy – I honestly did *not* feel it. The needle is very fine and short and there is not much volume to the vaccination itself, so you don’t even feel that icky burning sensation you get with some injections. The pharmacists smushes up your arm where the injection will be so they have a good squishy spot to do the injection – that is what I felt – it wasn’t painful, you just feel them smushing on your arm.

They then gave me my card, and told us to hang around for 10-15 minutes to make sure we didn’t have a reaction. We used this time to do a bit of shopping and hit the hardware store immediately next door. We then got lunch to go and went home and stuffed our faces with quesadillas, empanadas, and tacos.

The after-effects – those were pretty minimal. (Bearing in mind, this is dose #1.) I’m 49 years old, and reasonably healthy, if in need of more exercise.

Injection site: A bit achy, starting about an hour afterwards. Still feel it a little this morning. It’s not *painful* or continuous – just when I move my arm some ways, I go, “Oh, yeah, I got stuck there yesterday.” The best way I can describe it is if you’ve ever smacked your arm hard on a dresser corner or car door and you’ve bruised it and you don’t really think about it until you move your arm a particular way. I slept on that arm last night with no problems. I also massaged and moved around my arm as much as possible when I thought about it.

Fatigue: This is a tricky one, as fatigue is actually kind of hard to describe IMO. But, I would say, yes, there was some fatigue. I took a 2 hour nap after lunch, and I can’t say for sure if that was vaccine related, food coma, Friday after a long week, or a combination of all three. Between the nap and bedtime, I was pretty much parked on the couch with zero motivation to do anything. Crashed out around midnight, and I can tell you that was not normal as the Padres were playing the Dodgers and it was being broadcast on TV and I had to give up in the 7th inning. (They won!)

I slept like a rock for 10 1/2 hours. I’m glad I got the Friday appointment vs. another weekday, so I could sleep in this morning. If I *had* to work today, I could, but I wouldn’t be at my best.

Headache/Dizziness/Lightheadedness: Right before I took my nap, I did have a second or two where I felt slightly lightheaded. It could have been vaccine related, or I just was switching between phone screen & TV too much/too quickly and my brain was going “Stop it, asshole.” As I said, it was only a second or two.

I also felt some pressure in my head right around then – just a small bit, not even close to a headache or painful – just enough to be noticable and even then, probably only because I was VERY aware of everything my body was doing. Could have been vaccine related, or the fact that our pollen counts are off the charts here. It was gone by the time my nap was done.

Fever/Chills: None to speak of. There was one point after my nap when I was still upstairs and I was “Ugh, so hot” then I realized it was 78º upstairs (it gets very warm in the afternoon up there) and I was wearing a hoodie. Hoodie off, problem solved.

All in all though, not bad at all – the fatigue was really the biggest thing and there are worse things than needing to take a nap or go to bed earlier than usual and sleeping in.

I would recommend planning for a lazy 24-36 hours after your appointment. Honestly, you’ve earned it after this past year anyway.

Also, if there is a good eatery near your appointment location – treat yourself to something yummy for takeaway to celebrate.

The member of our household with the most pointed reaction to it all was the LilyMonster. “YOU BOTH LEFT THE HOUSE AT THE SAME TIME AND WERE GONE FOR AN HOUR AND A HALF!!!” Boy howdy, did we hear about that when we got back. For the rest of the day.

So, I hope this can help anyone who is a little nervous about that first dose.

Posted in COVID19 | Tagged | Leave a comment

Well, it’s vaccination day 1

And despite hearing tons of vax day experiences, I have zero idea what to expect, cause damn if we aren’t all beautiful, unique snowflakes who all had different reactions.

But we are prepared for feeling like garbage – got a freezer full of frozen microwave dinners, LOL. As my brother pointed out, usually if one of us is down for the count, the other takes care of food. But if we’re both down…

Got the consent forms downloaded and printed and holy shit, could they have made the boxes where you put your name & address any tinier? I went ahead and filled it out online for both of us before printing, cause I don’t know about my brother, but I can’t write that small. (Even dug out the old yellow shot cards cause they wanted to know the last Pertussis shots we got…I suspect they’ll look at the dates and go, “yeah, that might as well be a no.”)

Gawd, I am such a big sister. “Your form is all filled out, you just need to add your insurance card info and you last got the Dip-Tet in 1984.” (The Dip-Tet scene in Raising Arizona keeps running through my head now.)

And looking at the card, hey, I got an MMR booster for college. I have zero memory of that.

Also got the online ordering app for the Tex-Mex spot next to the Walgreens. Post-vaccination empanadas FTW.

Lily definitely knows something is up, probably because I positively BOUNCED out of bed even before the alarm went off.

I’m excited to not only get started with the vaccinations – it has felt a bit like watching everyone go to a party when I had to work late – but, it’s a big public service project, too! And I’ll get to answer YES on my daily Covid survey when asks “have you gotten a vaccine since the last survey?”

And now I have to go try and focus for the next three hours at work… HAHAHAHAHAHA.

Posted in COVID19 | Tagged | Leave a comment

Ah-HA!

Figured out the syrup situation. My brother knocked the bottle over when he was doing the dishes last night, and it sat sideways for about 10 minutes, but nothing spilled.

BUT – that ended up getting air in the pump and that air must have forced out the syrup as it was trying to escape. (There were still a few air bubbles in the pump when I made my coffee this morning and I thought that may have been it later, but couldn’t figure out how.)

So, no coffee drinking ghosts.

Posted in Miscellany | 2 Comments

Wait, what? How?

I’m very confused this morning, which granted, is a day ending in “y” – but today more than usual.

Came down to the kitchen and discovered a hand-sized puddle of coffee syrup on the counter. WTF?

It was an easy clean up, two minutes if that with a hot soapy sponge, but I cannot for the life of me figure out how it happened.

The bottle itself didn’t leak – and it’s inside another container with water to keep the ants at bay. (A moat, if you will.) That container didn’t leak. The pump on the bottle doesn’t appear to be leaking.

So, how on earth did I end up with a puddle of syrup on the counter?

And in the middle of ant season, no less – but, it appears the ant baits are doing the work, as there were only a handful of insects on a sugar high.

I’ve now got the bottle/container on top of a paper towel and I’ll be checking throughout the day to see if the pump is actually leaking. Or if we just had a ghost try to make coffee last night.

Syrup moat.
Posted in Miscellany | Tagged | Leave a comment

Damn, 200 million vaccinations.

Not too shabby, and according to my math, we’ve got 41% of over 18’s fully vaccinated in the country.

I thought 100 million by Biden’s 100th day was going to be a stretch. Guess not!

Our county seems to finally really be hitting its stride – best day so far we did 17K doses and 12K of those were second doses, that was back on 4/10 – for the past week, we’ve been averaging 12K a day, with near 6K of those being second doses. (And that is probably a little low, since there are always reporting stragglers in the dataset from the state that don’t show up for a few days.)

It just seemed like we were plodding along so slowly for so long – it’s great to really see progress – right now, we could have everyone over 16 – *everyone* – fully vaccinated by mid-August. Just a little over a month ago, it looked like it would take over a year.

We’ve gotten 51% of our over-16’s vaccinated with at least one dose, and 31% fully vaccinated.

I also just looked at the county website and the non-level 2 folks that had to register through the county – that was 435K people – 47% of our population.

While I realize we’ll probably not get to 100%, but from everything I’ve been seeing, my county is *not* vaccine-hesitant, and I suspect the biggest challenge is going to be making sure EVERYONE knows, in every language possible, that the vaccine is totally free, and how to go about getting it, since you don’t register through the county anymore.

We’re definitely going to need more walk-in clinics – make it as easy as possible for folks to get it.

But, it’s damn, it is good to see those numbers really going up.

Posted in COVID19 | Tagged | Leave a comment

One step forward, two steps back

No sooner did we finally hold a police officer accountable for killing George Floyd, police in Columbus decided the only way to break up a fight was to shoot someone four times.

A public safety system that constantly turns to shooting people in the name of safety isn’t keeping anyone safe.

And while Chauvin’s conviction is a step in the right direction, it’s not enough.

We can have better public safety systems. We just need to decide we want them.

Posted in News, Police Brutality | Tagged , | Leave a comment

I literally feel lighter.

I never would have anticipated this level of relief from just getting a vaccine *appointment* – it’s a very pleasant surprise.

Couldn’t focus on shit all day, so probably good it’s a Sunday, LOL.

Took a good nap with Lily, the Padres beat the Dodgers, and cooked up a nice pork tenderloin for dinner which will also last a few more days for lunch and snacks.

What a good day.

Posted in Miscellany | 2 Comments

OMG. OMG. OMG. OMG.

We have vaccine appointments. Woke up at 7 this morning – just one of those times where you roll over and you’re just awake. Picked up the phone and started hitting the bookmarks on the off chance there was an appointment. (I did try at 12:01AM just for shits and giggles, shocker, no appointments.)

VaccineFinder, not showing any county sites yet – expected. Harris Teeter – still only scheduling for 1C’s.

Walgreens. Hey, let’s get you an appointment!!! WAIT, WHAT?!

I was *not* prepared for that, but I managed to overcome my shock and get appointments for both myself and my brother – this coming Friday and then May 14th. Back to back at the same location, no less. And they schedule the second appointment at the same time!

I have all the emails and confirmation numbers and I am still in shock. I was fully prepared for this to take weeks – if not months. And I really didn’t think that the appointment would be so soon in relation to being able to register for it.

Bonus with the appointments being on Friday – if I feel like shit afterwards, I have the whole weekend to feel like shit, and I can save my PTO that I had planned to take the day after for nice post-pandemic things. I really wanted a Friday appointment, but would have taken anything, it was so nice how the stars aligned.

We’ll be fully vaccinated +2 weeks for Memorial Day weekend. What a way to kick off the summer. (Yes, I have booked a hair appointment that Friday. 2 shots + 2 weeks + masks – that’s doable.)

I always did like Walgreens more than CVS.

ETA: Emailed boss with time off, updated work calendar and PTO spreadsheet. It’s really happening.

Posted in COVID19 | Tagged | Leave a comment

Moar Coffee Plz

My beloved Padres played the Dodgers last night *and* it was televised here! It was a 10PM game. It went 12 innings… Hell of a game, even if the wheels completely came off at the end, but I also wasn’t in bed until after 3AM. Which wouldn’t be a huge problem, because it’s the weekend, but a certain kittycat decided at 9AM that it was very important to come in and yell at the top of her tiny little lungs, “HEY GIRL? GIRL? ARE YOU AWAKE??”

So, I am a wee bit bleary eyed this morning. And Lily is fast asleep again.

In preparation for VACCINE-O-RAMA starting tomorrow, I’ve been looking at the VaccineFinder website and sadly, it’s not super helpful. I can get a list of 50 of places that are offering the vaccine, half of which are marked as “out of stock” (why even list it then? or at least offer a toggle of “exclude out of stock pharmacies”) but the ones that are marked as “in stock” – none have appointments – and the links to specific pharmacies just go to the general store websites anyway, not to any local pharmacy website. (Which is understandable, it would take a hella long time to get every store in the database.)

The site was originally built for finding “regular” vaccines and in non-pandemic times, it’s probably very useful.

The county says that their mass vaccination sites will eventually show on VaccineFinder, but not until they finish the outstanding priority groups, and there are still 17K that are waiting for a callback, plus whoever else registers with the county today, so that will be a week or so, I guess.

So, the plan, such that it is, will be use VaccineFinder to see if any county sites have been added, then hit all my bookmarks for Walgreens, Safeway, Giant, Wegmans, CVS & Costco. Lather, Rinse, Repeat.

It does not feel like a *good* plan, but it is *a* plan.

Posted in COVID19, Miscellany, San Diego Padres | Tagged , | Leave a comment