So, COVID19…

Gawd, I am beyond furious with our governments response to this outbreak. I mean, I shouldn’t be surprised that the dipshit in chief decided that following China’s playbook was a good idea, but jesus fucking christ. Hey, if we don’t test people, we won’t have any cases!

That being said, it’s time to snap out of denial and do some prep. And I’ll admit – I feel a bit sheepish about it, because I don’t know if I’m overreacting or being smart – because the official information we’re getting is so vague and not fucking helpful.

I work remotely and am a bit of a hermit in general, so that’s a plus for me.

Grabbed some extra bottles of hand soap, since we’ll be going through it at a faster clip than usual. (Softsoap Basil & Lime is awesome.) My market is quite well stocked in general, but I couldn’t help but notice there appeared to be a bit of a run on handsoap. It’s roughly 4’x4′ section on that aisle, and there were some empty spots.

Also overheard a guy on the phone, “I’m doomsday prepping – beer is on sale, I got three cases.” Shit, you need that to deal with this administration on a good day.

Then I heard – and I think it was on the Colbert show of all places – some brands saying they’re anticipating potential supply chain problems, three of them being Crest, Bounty, & Charmin. So, my toothpaste, paper towels and toilet paper…

Yes, I did go out and get the BIG packages of paper products and an extra tube of toothpaste this morning. It’s not like they’ll go bad.

I’m making a point of washing my hands before I go out and about, and then again when I get home. I’ve given up on finding a hand cream I like (and I’m gonna need it w/all the handwashing) and just ordered a bottle of Clinique Moisture Surge for my hands – it’s gel based, not greasy, soaks up fast and doesn’t leave a weird residue. (Seriously, I’ve been looking for a hand cream I like forever and failed.)

I’ve seen many mentions online of cleaning your cell phone case, which makes perfect sense. Thought of something this morning I’d not seen – clean the steering wheel of your car. Ordered a couple boxes of large alcohol prep pads to take care of that. (Still normally priced and available on Prime.) Again, they won’t go bad and are just handy to have on hand in general.

Beyond that, I’m kind of looking at it like preparing for a big storm, but without the associated power outages. I’ve read you should have 2 weeks of food on hand. I’ll be honest, I don’t even know what that looks like. 2 dozen frozen Stouffer’s?

God forbid I’m stuck in the house for 2 weeks, but if I am, I have food, and can get more delivered. (If you’re in an area with Peapod – I highly recommend them.) I’ve got a cold brew pitcher & syrups on my Amazon shopping list to make up for my daily Starbucks if needed. Thankfully I’ve got no prescriptions I need to worry over and we have plenty of cat food, which I order online anyway.

And as I write this, they’ve just announced the first US death. :( I know it was inevitable – not everyone will survive this, but damn it sucks.

I’m 48 years old and this is a first for me. I’m not panicking, but it’s just weird and unsettling in general, and having a government that definitely is NOT up to the task is not helping my confidence levels at all.

But keep calm and carry on and all that. And wash your hands.

And hey, here’s a Lily!

Lily, a black and orange tortoiseshell cat, laying on a blue blanket

Posted in COVID19 | Tagged | Leave a comment

Well, hello 2020!

The year has started off with a blissfully unproductive day off.

Maybe next year I’ll remember the First Day Hikes thing *before* New Year’s Day so I can actually plan one and do it. (I swear, if they promoted this in December, I missed it completely.)

Don’t really do resolutions anymore, cause I suck at them, but I do have things I want to do better in 2020.

Cook more, read more, write more, move more.

Saving money is also on the list, and Lily said, “Hold my catnip” and we have a vet appointment tomorrow. Silly girl thinks she can live on cat candy, and that is just not sustainable.

Headshot of Lily, a black and orange tortoiseshell cat.

You eat candy constantly, why can’t I?

On the “cook more” front, I’ve started the year off well with kielbasa and cheesy potatoes. It’s so ridiculously easy, but it’s delicious and counts as cooking.

A white plate with a piece of kielbasa and a side of cheesy potatoes

No really big plans for 2020. Survive the winter. Keep grinding at work. (Still really enjoying the new gig!) Beach in July. Padres coming to town in August.

Be interesting to see what the year brings.

Posted in Miscellany | Tagged | Comments Off on Well, hello 2020!

Today was a good day.

And I fully realize that there is a lot of “shiny new job” going on, but it really was a good day.

I worked all day with no interruptions. No one changing priorities on me, no “hey, can you drop everything and do this other thing?”

Just, test, document, test, document, send email to developer, move to next bug while waiting on response.

I got maybe a dozen emails all day – and half of those were just automated updates about pull requests that had been submitted. To give you an idea of how ridiculously few emails that is…week before last, I took 2 days off work and returned to 184 emails. In two days.

It was just so blissfully calm. And I know there are going to be days when everything is nuts, but I am enjoying the calm.

Posted in Working | Tagged | 2 Comments

That was a very, very long 10 weeks

But tomorrow, the new gig starts.  :-D

Met with my new supervisor last week, went over procedures and stuff and everything is just so blissfully straightforward.  My to-do list is less than a page long, which hasn’t happened for a very, very long time.

He said they don’t get pulled in 20 different directions like we do in support.  I’m thinking it’s going to be a little weird to just be able to work uninterrupted for any length of time.  Good weird, but weird nonetheless.

Client responses as I was telling them I was moving were really lovely – of course, they may just be happy not to deal with me anymore, LOL.

All in all, I’m very excited.  Time to test the bugs!

ETA: It’s also the first Sunday in a long, long time where I’ve not been dreading Monday morning. That’s very refreshing.

Posted in Working | Tagged | 2 Comments

Last on call weekend!

OK, last primary on call weekend where I have to work until 10 on Friday. (There’s a backup weekend in November, but I’m not counting that, cause I don’t like thinking about the fact that it will be the 8th one this year)

Just under 2 hours to go! (I am still super bitter about missing the local brewfest this weekend – which I was going to go to until I had to take this weekend because of the new job.)

23 workdays to go!

One of my coworkers is also moving over to my new department, two weeks after me. (I do wonder if management is sitting down and asking themselves, “what could we have been doing differently?”)

I’m very excited about the move. I’m ready for something different. I’m beyond ready to have way more control over my day.

Just gotta hang in for 5 more weeks.

Posted in Working | Tagged | Leave a comment

Fintie Bluetooth Keyboards

Are slim, lightweight, work great with my iPad and those little fuckers regularly disappear on me. I’m now on the third one. I know the other two are SOMEWHERE in the house, but exactly where? No fucking clue. Adding insult to injury, I am quite sure I saw #2 somewhere in the past couple days.

But seriously, they’re great little keyboards. When they don’t sprout legs and hide.

Posted in Rants | Tagged | Leave a comment

.

Keep Calm and Carry On

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Andrew Luck

So, I don’t follow the NFL particularly closely, but it was impossible to miss Andrew Luck’s retirement yesterday on my Twitter feed.

And apparently some folks are big mad about it – like this ass:

And…

I’ll admit, for a second when I heard initial tweet below, I thought for a second, “Hmph, must be nice.”

But it was fleeting and replaced by, “Yes, it IS nice. And we shouldn’t expect people to continue in jobs that aren’t worth it to them anymore if they’re in a position to walk away.” Hell, I’m moving my ass to a new department in 8 weeks, because I am mentally worn out. (We should all be so lucky to have options.)

The game has been hard on him, mentally and physically. For him to stay and be miserable for the entertainment of NFL fans just isn’t something anyone should ask from him.

The only thing pro athletes “owe” to fans* is to do their best on the field and not be an ass off the field. And regardless of what you do for a living, we all know that it’s pretty much impossible to do your best when you’re miserable.

I hope Andrew Luck finds joy in the next stage of his life.

* And I use “owe” very loosely here.

Posted in Sports | Tagged | Comments Off on Andrew Luck

Oh, and have a Lily

A shot of Lily, a black and orange tortoiseshell cat, looking lovely on the bed.

The LilyMonster looking serene and regal

Posted in Lily, Photos | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Welp, it’s happening!!!

Got the official offer letter on the new gig – you can bet I hit YES at the speed of light.

Getting a nice raise, and there is room for growth to boot.

In a move like this there are always those twinges of “Did I do the right thing?” The universe has stepped up and answered, YES, YES YOU DID.

– It would take at least 3 years in my current position to get to my new salary.
– I’ve only got one more step upwards in my current department before I’d have to look at management, and for reasons I cannot fathom, promotions in my department only increase workload. One of the perks of a promotion should be that something comes off your plate as new things come on. (Upper management really needs to reevaluate this.)
– There was a team lead position open earlier this year – but more work and no raise. I passed on that. (It was presented as a stepping stone to management – the lack of any pay increase struck me a bit as “working for exposure.”)

Then last week yet another new set of procedures were rolled out that just create more work and make things harder. And case distribution continues to be utterly jacked up.

Talked to my new boss this week, asked about how PTO works… “Oh, just put it on your calendar. I mean, if you’re going to be gone for a week, let me know, but just a day off, just put it on your calendar.” The last three leave requests I’ve put in have been rejected in my current department – to the point where I would lose leave at the end of the year.

So, thank you universe for these signs. And thank you to my dear coworker who has been so amazingly supportive and excited for me. (Everyone has been awesome, she’s just been extra lovely about it all.)

I’m not leaving the job angry or bitter, but just more *gesticulating wildly* MANAGEMENT, DON’T YOU GET IT??!?

But, it’s all good. The countdown has begun. 8 weeks left. 37.5 workdays. 2 on call weekends – halfway through the first of those at least. (One backup weekend in November, but I’m not counting that one.)

I still cannot believe my boss managed to wrangle a TEN WEEK transition from when I told her about the new gig. (New boss tried to shorten it, but got nowhere.) But, I only have 28 active cases, I’m not taking on any new cases (other than helping junior analysts) – so I have a somewhat decent chance of not leaving a total disaster in my wake. Who knows, if I can clear everything out, maybe I can transition early. (Not holding my breath, but a gal can dream!)

ETA: I also topped 500 hours in uncompensated overtime in 3 years this week. It’s time.

Posted in Working | Tagged | Comments Off on Welp, it’s happening!!!