Wow, Friday already!

This week went by almost as fast as vacation did, which was really fucking fast.

Today’s big tasks besides work are phone calls, yaaaay. Gotta call the rental company and see if the advance reservation for next year really went through (no usual email confirmation) and make an appointment for the monster, as she’s being picky about her food and we can’t have that.

Of course, I should have made the rental call yesterday before they got into their insane turnover days, but I blanked on it. They’re not going to love yet another phone call today, but I’ve gotta make sure that reservation went through. (I did email and got no response, so I think I may have used a bad address, as they’re usually really responsive.)

I’ve set an alarm to remind myself to make these calls, because I will blank on it yet again if I don’t… (I feel like normal people do not have to do this.)

Today’s other big job is getting hydrated. I’ve not been good about drinking my water this week, and I can feel it. I’d been getting very good about taking some drinks whenever my fitbit buzzes at me to move (which I can’t really do while working) and when my hourly reminder to stand up and stretch beeps on my computer. This week? Wow, I’ve totally ignored them. TODAY WE DRINK TONS OF WATER!

Stay safe, drink your water, and have a wonderful day.

Posted in Miscellany | Tagged | Leave a comment

Zoom Zoom!

Thursday already? This week is certainly flying by and I couldn’t even tell you why.

Haven’t missed a beat at work, which is nice and it was lovely to *not* dread going back on Monday morning. My former boss called me yesterday and my first thought was “FUCK, what did I do?” – I answered the phone with, “It’s not my fault! I didn’t do it! I swear I left the client three voicemails!” LOL. Fortunately, she found it funny. And then tried to get me to do client training. Nope, nope, nope. I’m good at the module in question, but not “client paying extra for in depth training” good.

I mean, I’m not going to lie, if I won the lottery, I’d quit my job and move to the beach, but right now, work is certainly good enough.

Well, off to go to the thing. Have an awesome day.

Posted in Working | Tagged | Leave a comment

Pandemic Side Effect

Well, we found out at the beach that all three of us have apparently become morning people. The latest anyone (OK, me) slept was until 9:30 and most days we were all up and about by 8:30. And we all agreed it wasn’t terrible, LOL. So, maybe one tiny not awful thing has come out of this. Mornings are actually kinda nice. Who knew?

Back to work today, where I will spend the first half hour going, “Wait, what is my job again?” I am happy to report, I didn’t think about work AT ALL while I was on vacation – didn’t even check my email. So, the other part of that first half hour will be clearing out my inbox. The good news is that it shouldn’t be the shitshow of emails like it was last year.

Watching BBC news this morning and Boris Johnson is talking about a vaccine and masking up and such and my lord, 45 makes that utter boob look good. (They’ve pivoted to the Chris Wallace interview w/45 and yes, he looks like a fucking idiot.)

In other pandemic bullshit, Virginia was doing really good with Phase 2 + mandatory masks. Phase 3 has undone all that – our 7 day numbers are back where they were around June 2. The county is doing pretty good, and the Governor is blaming it on non-compliance in businesses Hampton Roads, but still, jeez. And we’re going enforcement heavy rather than really trying to figure out WHY Hampton Roads folks are non-compliant. (Personally, I think the state should have sent every household a half dozen reusable masks 3 months ago, but no one asked me.) Here’s an idea – STOP LETTING SO MANY PEOPLE BE INSIDE AT THE SAME TIME, DAMMIT. I resistbot’d the Governor last week about reverting to Phase 2 – may have to be that annoying constituent again this week.

The LilyMonster is still being her usual post-trip velcro kitty self – and has decided she loves her wet food again. She’d been a bit fussy about the dry and had loved some wet treats I got her, so I popped a can of wet for her and she was very, “OMG, THIS IS GREAT, WHY AREN’T YOU GIVING ME THIS ALL THE TIME?!” Um, cause you were turning your nose up at it? So, she will just have ALL the food varieties available to her going forward. Weird kitty.

Looking at a high of 98 today – I know it’s mid-July in DC, but yikes. Especially painful coming off a week of high 80s with an ocean breeze.

Welp, off to go to the thing. You have a great day and don’t melt.

Posted in COVID19, Lily, Working | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

Home Sweet Home

Nothing like spending 90% of daylight hours outside for a week in near perfect weather and then coming home to an oven. I’ve tried to go outside more than a few times this weekend and I last about 5 minutes each time.

It was a very, very, very nice break. And easy to be safe.

But, the LilyMonster is happy that we’re back.

Lily, a black and orange tortoiseshell cat, sleeping

And here are a couple other snaps from the beach:

Frog!

A tiny frog on sandy soil

The tiniest frog I’ve ever seen – not even 1/2 inch!

Bird!
A seagull walking on the beach with waves in the background

Turtle!
A turtle coming out of a creek

Posted in Animals, Lily, OBX, Photos, Pleasant Things | Tagged , , , , | Leave a comment

Rest in Power, John.

I am just crushed.

I hope we can create the world he deserved.

Posted in News | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Happy sad sigh.

Last night at the beach. It’s been the mental reset we all very much needed. I didn’t realize how much I needed it until we got here.

I know we are super lucky to be able to check out for a week. It’s also made me realize I need to figure out better ways to reset at home. Little day trips or something. A change of scenery always does me good.

I’ve been able to make my brain shut off enough to read, and I’ve has some honest to god creative thoughts.

I also used my actual camera this year, so this weekend will be downloading the shots from it. (I’ve only opened my laptop once this week.)

Tonight is another dinner on the deck, then getting as much crap in the car as possible so tomorrow I can be at the coffee shop when they open and roll out to retrieve the LilyMonster. I so wish we could bring her here. Maybe someday.

In the meantime, some turtles.

Posted in Miscellany, OBX, Video | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

Hoo boy…

Nothing like a small bit of space away from “fucked up normal” to make you realize how close you were to losing your fucking mind. I mean, I really thought I was doing OK with the whole pandemic and it’s assorted shit, but HOLY SHIT did I need a change of scenery.

For reasons that I definitely need to figure out, I am able to disconnect a bit from the news here, and my brain is settled enough that I can actually sit and read a damn book, which I have not been able to do since mid-March. I finished Empire of Deception this morning – fast read and really fascinating – check it out. I’m on to one of Phillip Kerr’s Berlin Noir novels, The Lady from Zagreb, now.

It’s the second one of his books I’ve read and it’s a bit “the dame had legs that went all the way to the floor” – but it’s certainly enjoyable.

We had BBQ for dinner last night and I had leftover BBQ for lunch today and it was excellent. Tonight is shrimp & grits from a spot just down the road. :-D

I was a bit worried about the turtles as only two showed up Friday afternoon, but it was also blazing hot – this morning, easily 10 of them. You have to not just have treats for them, but talk to them, too. Give them the weather report for the day, the rundown of the headlines, ask how they’re doing – and they show up.

Posted in OBX, Video | Tagged , | Leave a comment

86 pages today

First time I’ve been able to get my brain to settle down enough to read since mid-March.

Book:  Empire of Deception: The Incredible Story of a Master Swindler Who Seduced a City and Captivated the Nation, Dean Jobb

Posted in Books | Tagged | Leave a comment

Welp, it seems we have a pod now

We made it to the happy place and we have a pod of three – me, little bro, and might as well be little bro.

The trip down was crazy fast and I got my pato tacos for lunch before we hit the house. We were even able to get in the house a bit early to boot.

Pato tacos, yum!

We then proceededto accdentally get a bit drunk on the porch. We all had a lot of pent up stuff it seems.

Coffee and paper this morning, and then I took a book to the creek, fully intending to read, but I couldn’t stop watching the turtles.

Oddly indulgent.

Turtles!

Posted in Coastal Cantina, Duck’s Cottage, OBX, Photos | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

OK, it’s really vacation time :-D

Got my bigassed cold brew (no cracked cup today), already popped on & off work and put in my timesheet, and I’M OFF WORK!

Something I am noticing this year is that even with the pandemic – I am way more chill going into vacation this year than in years past. Seems there may be a difference between “ready for a break” and “so wrung out from work you can’t see straight.” Who knew?!

Moth update! Lily lost interest in the moth yesterday morning and then it reappeared last night – and she was on it. It decided to “hide” on the water pitcher for my plants, I remembered that I can open the top sash of the window where there is no screen. Anyone watching from the outside, well – I can only imagine what a disembodied arm sticking outside the window waving a water pitcher going “Go! Go now! Fly away!” must have looked like. But, the moth has been returned to its proper environment. (And was probably promptly eaten by a bird, but I am choosing to not think about that.)

Welp, time to get some bits and bobs done so I can jump out of bed and hit the road tomorrow.

Have an excellent day!

Posted in Miscellany | Tagged | Leave a comment