How to make people dislike you…

Schedule an 8AM meeting where all the attendees usually start work at 9.

But, I bounced my butt out of bed an hour early, got my coffee and I’ve still got about an hour to get all my brain cells facing the same direction for a day that will have – I shit you not – three and a half hours of meetings.

Our county fair that is usually in June has been canceled again this year. :( They said the health metrics (aka, vaccination rates) aren’t good enough yet. I understand, but I was also really looking forward to a corndog and funnel cake. Hopefully we can have our shit together by the 4H fair in August.

You know what could help our vaccination rates? Putting a county-wide mask mandate in place until we hit a particular vaccination goal. Just saying…

As I went into Starbucks this morning, there was an unmasked gentleman leaving – two women were inside waiting for their coffee and one said, “Oh, that was very weird.” We all had a nice little chat about how seeing faces all of a sudden was so very odd.

Good article over at the NYTimes about how we’ve all got some trust issues these days. I know I do – and I kinda hate it – I’d much rather we’d all come through this knowing we could really depend on each other. But, we’ll muck through this last phase as best we can like the rest of it. But honestly, shittiest group project EVER.

Well, time to go have ALL THE MEETINGS. Happy hump day, kids.

Posted in COVID19, Working | Tagged , | Leave a comment

OK, that was a weird

Saw my first unmasked face out in the wild today. OK, technically inside in the wild. And it was not who I expected it to be. I would have bet money it would be a douchy white dudebro, but no, it was a little white haired elderly lady at Starbucks. (Yeahhhhh, Starbucks gave up, too.)

And it was weird. I’m confident she was vaccinated, as our vaccination rates for the over 65 population has been really, really good. And the funny thing was, she had her mask in her hand – so I guess it might have been, “I am going to see how this feels to have it off inside but be totally ready to put it back on.”

And it was super weird for me – I so wanted to ask her, “ISN’T THIS WEIRD FOR YOU? DOESN’T YOUR FACE FEEL VERY NAKED? CAN’T YOU LITERALLY FEEL THE AIR MOLECULES BOUNCING OFF YOUR FACE?! YOU’RE KINDA MATURE, AREN’T YOU AT ALL WORRIED?!?”

But, I did not, and it’s a good thing my mask was on given that was the only thing keeping my jaw from legit hitting the floor, LOL.

As my internet bestie Ashley pointed out – we have gone through a LOT of trauma with all this, and she’s absolutely right. And yet, I keep telling myself, “I’m good. Didn’t lose anyone, didn’t get sick, was able to stay safe at home, only had one semi-public breakdown” – and yet I almost started to cry in the car yesterday when I realized I’d have to deal with crowds again and today wanted to shake a little old lady by the shoulders going, “HOW ARE YOU ABLE TO DO THAT?”! Yep, I am utterly, totally OK.

I knew we were going to drop mask mandates & capacity limits – I realized that part of why it’s bothering me so much is that I thought it would be done in more of a slow and deliberate manner rather than this clusterfuck – and I am really not tolerating clusterfucks out of this administration, and I’m super annoyed at blue Governors who have forgotten how to think and act independently. (Looking at you, Virginia & North Carolina!)

But, in all this mess, at least my beloved beach coffee and bookshop, Duck’s Cottage, has not disappointed me. On Sunday, they announced that for the foreseeable future, they will be maintaining their capacity limits and masks will be required, and it is non-negotiable. And if you don’t like it, go somewhere else. And the customer response was overwhelmingly positive and supportive.

So, it’s not all bad. But it’s gonna be weird for a while.

Posted in COVID19 | Tagged | Leave a comment

Just to prove I’m not *all* doom & gloom

I hit up the Hallmark store yesterday for an “I love me/got my second shot” trip. OK, really just needed some notecards, but decided to treat myself a bit.

New Yankee Candle, a “pencil case” that will actually be a good makeup case just for the basic stuff, and some more fancy soaps, cause…fancy soap habit.

The notecards – I just needed some blank-on-the-inside ones (and I am sure I’ve got some around here, but no idea where they are) – and I found these – AREN’T THEY FABULOUS?!

Notecard with an iridescent background and a pink flamingo in the corner
Pink AND Shiny!!

And file under, “things I wish I’d known a year ago” – Vaseline still makes it’s Hand & Nail Cream! I *loved* this stuff back in the day and when I realized hand cream would be A Thing I Really Needed, I looked for it and couldn’t find it in any shops and just figured it must have been discontinued. I don’t know what made me decide to look at Vaseline’s website earlier this week, but I did, and there it was – found some on Amazon and it arrived and it’s slightly different, but on the whole, just as good as I remember!

Two weeks to stronger nails! Just in time to continue to stay home because they’re dropping all capacity limits in the state, and I am realizing I cannot deal with crowded spaces anymore! *LOL*sob*LOL*

Posted in Miscellany | Leave a comment

48 hours post Pfizer shot #2

And…I’m great. Still feel it a bit at the injection site if I raise my left arm above my head, but other than that, really no after-effects it seems. Stayed up late and watched the Padres whomp up on the Cardinals last night and didn’t fall asleep on the couch. (Helped that it was done by a bit past midnight rather than running to 2AM.) My brother’s reaction was almost the same – he had a bit of a headache yesterday afternoon, and that was it.

I am glad they came out and said that the level of feeling like crap after the shots does not actually correspond to your actual immune response to the vaccine. Because, honestly – leading up to this I wasn’t sure which I was more worried about – a big response that had me flat on my ass, or no response at all.

I’m still very tweaked about the state dropping the mask mandates when we don’t even have 38% of the state fully vaccinated, but it is what it is. I can only hope the Governor’s office sees something in the data that I can’t. But I suspect we’re getting thrown under the bus for capitalism, because let’s be honest – 9 times out of 10, that’s driving everything.

They keep crowing about “over 60% of adults have had their first shot” – but over 20% of the population is under 18 – so we’re really only looking at just shy of 45% of *all* Virginians having their first shot – and we need to talk about the *whole* population when it comes to Covid & vaccines, not just adults.

I’m also annoyed at businesses who are dropping mask requirements for vaccinated customers and going on the honor system – but I also get it. These are places that have already been dealing with customers becoming violent over state-required mask mandates – if they don’t even have the state backing them up anymore on that…well, I can understand it. And if folks were getting violent over the masks, they’ll also get violent if they’re asked if they’re vaccinated.

But it’s just such an indictment of American society. We could have all said right from the start, “Of course I will do what I can to protect others. Putting on a mask is easy. I will do my part.” But, while lots of people did – so many didn’t. I will never understand how you can have so little care for others. It’s really destroyed my trust in others, which sucks.

Where I live, compliance with the mask mandates has been exceptionally high. I don’t know how much has been “Yes, of course, why wouldn’t I?” vs “Ugh, fine, whatever, but I won’t do it a second longer than I have to.” Guess we’ll be finding that out soon enough.

It’s going to be interesting to see how many folks around here start dropping masks.

I don’t know what my reaction is going to be when I start seeing the faces of strangers again. I will be hoping against hope that the face goes with a fully vaccinated body.

And as I continue to see folks with masks, I’m going to assume you’re not fully vaccinated yet and actually give a shit about your health and others (thank you!) or you’re fully vaccinated and a bit “ehhhhhh” about things at the moment. And that’s OK! I know even though I’ll be stepping a bit outside my comfort zone once I hit the magic two weeks, I’ll still be all masked up for it for a while.

And as always, if your mask is very cool or pretty – I am totally going to say something about that.

And to every pundit out there saying that vaccinated folks should just chuck all their masks and get over it – STFU and GTFOH. I’m sorry you haven’t been able to take a simple safety protocol and turn it into a lovely fashion accessory like many of us have.

Posted in COVID19 | Tagged | 2 Comments

Day after Pfizer shot #2

And frankly, I feel fantastic. Had a big lunch yesterday, napped for a couple hours (I only got 2 hours of sleep Thursday night so the nap was probably not vaccine related,) watched some TV, stayed up kinda late, slept well. If I try to lift my left arm all the way over my head, the injection site is achy – but that’s it.

Mentally – I am still just gobsmacked at the decision by the Governor to drop the mask mandates when we don’t even have half the state population fully vaccinated. Our case numbers are looking great, but our average vaccinations per day have fallen off a damn cliff. We peaked towards the end of April and now we’re at half of that.

If he’d said, “When we have X% of the population fully vaccinated, we can drop mask mandates” – that very well could have incentivized some folks to go get the damn shot, but that carrot is gone now.

I’m still not mad that the CDC said, “If you’re vaccinated, you can safely do X” – it’s important to know what you can & can’t do, especially in private settings where you know everyone is vaccinated. But the Governor’s decision on public spaces just changes all my mental math.

I was still going to mask up until we hit better vaccination numbers, but I’d been making all my decisions based on the fact that I wouldn’t be surrounded by a bunch of unmasked, unvaccinated chucklefucks until we at least hit the majority of the population being fully vaccinated.

Now, I have to count on businesses to have an interest in keeping their employees and customers safe until we hit majority vaccination. And we’ve seen how well they do *that* without state intervention. Trader Joes, Walmart, and FML – Costco – are dropping mask requirements for fully vaccinated customers – tell me, are they REALLY going to be checking shot cards at the door? I doubt it.

If you’re thinking, “but you’re fully vaccinated and will be fully protected in 13 days” – yes, that is correct. But there is still the risk of breakthrough infection. And while I realize the risk of an infection is very low, and any infection actually being serious is insanely low – there is then the chance of my passing it on to someone at risk who is not vaccinated yet, or cannot get vaccinated. And we’re looking at a whole lot of unmasked, unvaccinated people being out and about.

My pro-mask stance has not just been for myself, but to *not* do put other people at risk. (Even assholes who *won’t* get vaccinated.)

If we lived in a society where folks actually thought about the greater good and looked out for each other, this would be a non-issue. We could count on folks who aren’t vaccinated to stay masked up until they were vaccinated – and that they would be actively working on getting vaccinated. But if we’ve learned anything in the last 14 months, it’s that we do not live in that society.

Posted in COVID19 | Tagged | Leave a comment

Well, Virginia has given up

36% of the state’s population is fully vaccinated. 55% haven’t gotten a single shot yet. (My county is doing a little better – but still 47% with no first shot.)

So of course, the Governor is dropping mask mandates, effective at midnight tonight and all capacity restrictions are removed starting Memorial Day weekend.

His message was “get a shot or wear a mask” – yeahhhhhh, that will do it. So, now it’s back on businesses to decide if they either keep masks mandatory or try and figure out who is and isn’t vaccinated.

Businesses who already feel like mandatory masks are hurting their business sure as shit aren’t going to start asking to see shot cards. (I find the panic over vaccination passports so overblown – if anyone is actually going to be doing it, it’s going to be highly specific and short lived.)

Nothing wrong with the CDC saying “vaccinated folks can do X” – but we don’t have enough vaccinated people yet to just ditch all the public-wide safety protocols when NO ONE IS ACTUALLY GOING TO CHECK WHO IS VACCINATED.

The smarter option would have been to set a vaccination goal, and tell everyone, “when we get there, mask mandates will be dropped” – THAT could have spurred some more vaccinations – we’d all have something to really work towards.

Now, you *will* see people make the decision to not get vaccinated because the inconvenience of a mask is gone and no one is going to ask them about being vaccinated – so why bother?

I want nothing more than to be utterly wrong, but I hope we’re ready for the June spike, cause it’s coming.

I’m really disappointed in the decision.

Posted in COVID19 | Tagged | Leave a comment

IT’S VACCINATION DAY, BITCHES!!

And I got a whopping 2 hours of sleep last night, so I’m very happy I am not trying to go back to work after my appointment.

And everyone is mad at the CDC… May I gently suggest your anger is not really at the CDC, but at the same assholes that have ruined everything for us the last 14 months?

I get it. It feels like it’s too much, too fast. And holy shit, parents are PISSED. (But – and I say this with zero snark – were the kids not masking up before now? I thought they were? They seem to be around here.)

But, the CDC has an obligation to let vaccinated folks know what they can do safely. They can only go so long begging people to get vaccinated while saying folks have to maintain the status quo – if anything, there comes a point where you’re going to have part of the population who may have been on the fence decide “why bother if nothing changes?”

And the assholes who will lie about being vaccinated – they were always going to do that. Always.

And I’ll admit, I’m cringing a bit about the fact that mask mandates are probably going to start being dropped left & right. Hopefully those decisions will be made with vaccination rates and case counts in mind – and provisions made to reinstate them if needed.

But, no one is saying I can’t keep masking up if it makes me comfortable. Plus, at least we’re not going to see folks in this administration mocking people who aren’t quite ready to put the masks away.

My hair appointment in two weeks? (Two weeks!!!!) I’ll certainly still be all masked up, regardless of the salon/state/county policy. Outdoors will be easier to adjust to than anything indoors. I’ll keep watching the vaccination stats and case counts for the county as part of my decision making process.

I’ll admit, I do like living in an area that has had amazing mask compliance and I suspect we’ll have a lot of vaccinated folks around here that continue to mask up for any number of reasons.

It’s going to be a *big* adjustment – over a year of making sure you’re masked up is a habit you aren’t going to be able to just drop on a dime. Take your time. Be gentle with yourself and keep those masks part of your “phone/keys/wallet” routine as long as you need to.

As for me, I just ordered another box of disposable masks, because I’ve been using them for double masking and I’m down to one left – and I’m going to need the throwaway ones for my hair appointment. Not getting hair color splashed on my pretty ones.

Posted in COVID19 | Tagged | 3 Comments

Tech is weird.

So, my department at work is moving to agile development. The best way I can easily explain it, it’s breaking down the software development process into small pieces that can be done in short time increments. It’s supposed to be more flexible (ie, “agile!” get it?!) and you find things that are wrong quicker, etc – all in all, it makes perfectly good sense. I think we’ll benefit from it once we get through some of the transition challenges. (Like the fact that QC just ain’t structured for this right now, but we’ll get there, and I get to push for that in a meeting in an hour.)

But hooooo boy, the language choices here are something else. It all screams “white techbro” so badly. (It was first introduced in 2001, and my gawd, does it show.)

I mean, when your core principle/mission statement is called “the agile MANIFESTO” – you know that is not where the weird is going to end.

Then we’ve got more creepy cult language. Grooming. (Ewh.) Ceremony.  Ritual.   Reveal.  Retrospective.

Of course, then some gaming and sports has to be thrown in. Planning Poker. Sprint.  Spike. (No, not volleyball, but mountaineering. Of course.) Scrum. 

Some ableist bullshit in there to boot – “stand up meetings” – where every is supposed to be *standing* to make it move quicker.

And then, in the training, it was mentioned that you’ll hear some Japanese terms here and there, because it was inspired by Toyota’s lean manufacturing principles. Or, the dudes that came up with this were a bunch of fucking weebs.

It’s just so cringy.

And now I have to go to a meeting where I get to be the asshole that says we can’t have an 8 person QC team that can only dedicate 25% of their time to this particular version/module. The answer to the daily “what did you do yesterday/what will you do today” question will be “I had to work on other things” 75% of the time. Let’s just make two people fully dedicated to it with one or two tagged for overflow work – the whole point of this is having a *small* team.

They may regret dragging me into this, LOL.

Posted in Technology, Working | Tagged , | Leave a comment

OK, need everyone to vax up so we can be done with this…

I hollered at someone in Starbucks this morning. Jerk didn’t put on his mask until he was already inside – which I was prepared to write off as a moment of absent mindedness. Then took it back off 3 feet from the door on his way out… That’s when the word ASSHOLE may have escaped my mouth.

FFS, we’re so close – just fucking put your mask on BEFORE you go inside and KEEP IT ON.

We haven’t dropped the mask mandate here. When we do, fine, I won’t call you an asshole. Until then, tho…

Also, this jackass bought a black coffee. You could literally make that at home in less time than it takes to make the round trip to Starbucks.

Posted in COVID19 | Tagged | Leave a comment

What will “The After” look like?

Been thinking a lot about what things will be like post-pandemic, especially with my second shot just next week.

I don’t think things will ever fully look like they did before – especially with reports that herd immunity through vaccination may not be possible. (I was just gutted to read that – I just do not understand it.)

I think there are going to be more than a few strained relationships (if there aren’t already) – there are going to be a lot of situations where folks decide not to reconnect with people who spent the pandemic showing their asses. I am grateful that in my circle of friends, folks have done their best to minimize risk and have been very excited to be vaccinated.

I think masking up will continue to be a thing, especially on public transport. And the number of allergy sufferers I’ve seen on Twitter going, “Holy shit, this is AWESOME” with regards to their masks this spring…well, I definitely think they’re going to stick around forever for those folks. (Why didn’t we think of this before? I know SO many people who are miserable every spring.) Also, they’re nice in the winter for keeping your face warm.

As for myself, I’ll be dropping from double masking to single – and will probably be keeping that up for the foreseeable future when I’m indoors or crowded places until I see our vaccination rates max out and our case counts drop significantly. (Our county is averaging 76 cases a day – I want to see that well under our 2020 summer lows, which was 39 cases a day.) Probably gonna continue it forever on the Metro or if I ever set foot in an airport again.

Also, the hand wipes in my car and purse are definitely permanent, and I have full justification for my fancy soap habit.

I want to see labor keep pushing back against shitty employers who are pissed off that people don’t want to work for crap wages in umsafe conditions. Y’all love that free market, and this is the free market in action. Suck it up, buttercup.

Lets do better for restaurant and retail and delivery workers – hell, anyone who can’t work remotely. They kept our asses fed and medicated and supplied with stuff over the past year – they deserve good pay and safe working conditions. We know damn good and well that a McD’s double cheeseburger and fries won’t suddenly become unaffordable if the folks in the store are making a living wage.

I also want to keep pushing back on the idea that folks in white collar jobs all have to be in an office to contribute. I realize not every job can be done remotely, but a LOT of them can, and we have seen over the last year that working at home can work just fine – even with the added pressures of kids at home, too. (Which will be lifted when school starts again. Seriously management, let folks work from home.)

As much as the government wants to get to a point where they can pretend this never happened – we have to push them to do some permanent things that will help people and make life just a little easier. It’s not that they haven’t done anything, but it’s pretty much all been temporary. We all deserve better.

I’m kinda worried about the fall, though. With kids going back to school in person, and at that point, under 12s will still be unvaccinated – we’re going to have to keep a sharp eye out for outbreaks in schools. Kids are great, but they’re also little disease vectors, and Covid can mess them up, and I don’t want that for any family.

But maybe, just maybe – the “after” can be better than before.

Posted in COVID19, Miscellany | Tagged , | Leave a comment