The county hit MODERATE COMMUNITY TRANSMISSION YESTERDAY!!!
Though I am going to wait until we’re there for at least a week steady before any indoor beer, BUT THINGS ARE IMPROVING!
Booster shot is this coming Thursday – feels like perfect timing. :)
The county hit MODERATE COMMUNITY TRANSMISSION YESTERDAY!!!
Though I am going to wait until we’re there for at least a week steady before any indoor beer, BUT THINGS ARE IMPROVING!
Booster shot is this coming Thursday – feels like perfect timing. :)
Looks like we didn’t beat the 55K of last year (which admittedly, was a very weird year) – but folks stepped up for kids in Durham County and there is 21K before matching to buy food for kids! I know some folks had caps on how many donors they could match (I ended up dropping my cap) – but even if all the matchers stopped at 250 donors, that’s another 10K! THAT’S GONNA BUY A LOT OF FOOD FOR THE KIDS! (And there are donations still trickling in this morning, yay!) Yes, I’m using a lot of exclamation points this morning!
And to think, 7 years ago, it was $500 and a Hyundai Elantra full of food. Now, it’s many thousands of dollars, a 501c3, big assed trucks, and a man named Ryan who works at Costco on North Pointe Drive who is a LEGEND now. (Sam’s Club *canceled* the food order in 2019 – Ryan at Costco stepped up and said, “Yes, we will help you spend that money!”)
I love this on so many levels. First, food insecurity is a very real problem in this country – this at least puts a tiny dent in it. I can only imagine the relief of a parent on a tight budget finding out they are getting ~2 weeks of groceries to cover winter break.
And second – it’s totally selfish, but it just makes me feel GOOD. It feels good to do something I know concretely helps people, and it feels good to see so many others do the same. (If I lived in the Research Triangle area, I’d take time off work to help bag everything up.)
There are a lot of garbage people in the world, but there are so many good people that care.

Today is the day of the 7th annual Bull City Foodraiser, run by Greg Doucette down in Durham, NC, working with Turquoise Parker of the Durham County schools.
It’s to raise money to send food home with kids over the holiday break – a lot of these kids get most of their meals from school – and school break can mean skipped meals. NO ONE WANTS THAT, RIGHT?
I am doing a $2 match on the first 250 donations. Other folks are doing matches, too.
You may be thinking, “this sounds really nice, but I don’t have enough to make a difference.”
With the matches – whatever you donate – even just $1 – will have more money added to it! So, even a little can really help.
I’ll update this w/the exact match number in a bit, the GFM is live, but Greg hasn’t done his big thread with the # of matchers just yet.
UPDATE: 18 MATCHERS – YOUR DONATION NETS ANOTHER $36!!!!!
Last year, everyone went a little nuts and over $55K was raised. The whole thread of days happy insanity with the backstory and pictures is here.
Can we do it again?!?!? COME ON, MAKE A DONATION AND SPEND MY MONEY! Things are still really hard for so many people, especially kids – let’s make things just a little easier.
HERE IS THE LINK TO THE GO FUND ME AGAIN – LET’S FEED SOME KIDS!!
Link for paypal!! https://t.co/wfPHu41eGc
(I know the link looks weird, but it’s good. )
Venmo!! TGregDoucette-Foundation
They also have 501c3 status now, so your donation may be tax deductible, depending on your tax situation.
Turnout. If what I’m reading is correct, D’s turnout was shit here in Virginia.
I’m perpetually pissed at the Biden administration for one thing or another, and livid with Senate Democrats.
I was excited to vote for my delegate Kathy Tran (she won), and Hala Ayala. Herring was “Eh, he’ll be fine” and I will totally admit that McAuliffe was… “Ugh, FINE, I will do it, but I won’t love it.” (I didn’t think he’d be a total fuckup in office, just wasn’t my first choice.)
So, I didn’t go to the polls with unbridled enthusiasm. It’s not the first time the folks I voted for in a primary didn’t make it to the general – I’m kinda used to it.
But not voting? Was never an option, especially this year.
I genuinely don’t get it. I want to know why people who voted for Biden last year, just didn’t come out at all this year.
I know it wasn’t access – all the expansion we did last year, they made it permanent – and now that’s been pissed away.
I just want to know why they didn’t care enough to vote.
But I’m sure we’ll get a TON of great interviews with racist Karens talking about how they had to PROTECT THE CHILDREN from CRT. (Yeah, white women were at it again here.)
Unless something drastically changed since I went to bed, we lost the executive branch & house in Virginia yesterday.
We still have the state Senate for 2 years, so the best we can hope for is gridlock on the legislative side and challenging any dumbass executive orders in court.
McAuliffe ran a shit campaign, combined with the fact that apparently some folks can’t separate national & state politics, here we are. (This is not a slam on all the volunteers out there – this is on McAuliffe himself.)
Honestly, he didn’t deserve to win on his lousy campaign, but I sure as hell wish it hadn’t been a loss to a damn clone of 45.
Democrats need to get their shit together and stop expecting folks to just organize their way out of fascism.
I mean sure, I know how the seasons work and all that, but I got up at my regular time this morning and it is still dark out there. Like, WTF, Mother Nature – dark wakeups are for Wednesdays only.
In some good and stupid news, my back is easily at 95% of good. However, in my machinations to protect it, I pulled a muscle in that spot where your leg & torso meet. I despair at what I’ll hurt trying to help *this* muscle heal.
Voting at lunch today – didn’t do early this year – last year was such a clusterfuck and I didn’t want to mess with that again. Our precinct is well run and even in Presidential elections the wait isn’t long and vaxxed & masked, I feel fine going in person this year. I’ll be happy for it to be done, cause I’m sick of pundits yelling that Dems aren’t energized and whatnot – if Dem voters can’t distinguish between what our state legislature has been able to do vs. Congress, well, I don’t even know what to do about that.
But Democrats everywhere need to run on more than just “we’re not fascists” – I think our delegates have done a very good job of that at least.
I’m still pissed at Biden and Senate Democrats, but I see no reason to fuck up Virginia out of spite.
Go vote today.
But, Halloween was quite a success, we had a big turnout and the glow sticks were a big hit.
I then started off this morning by knocking over a 20 oz tumbler of coffee on the kitchen counter.
It can only go up from here, right?
Unless you’re a grocery store, then Merry Christmas! (Seriously, they had the Christmas stuff out YESTERDAY.)
I’ve already seen a tiny Iron Man and a 4′ tall banana this morning when picking up my coffee.
My back is about…80-85% of what I’d consider good. Still fantastically frustrating and I don’t know how folks with chronic pain issues do it – other than they do it because they don’t have a choice. It’s weirdly exhausting – the pain itself and the constant hyper-vigilance to not do anything that may make it worse.
But, it is what it is, and at least it’s getting better. And I’ve realized that the seats in the new Jeep have excellent lumbar support!
Have a fun and safe Halloween, and if you did something like pull out your favorite candy bars from the variety mixes and set them aside so they somehow don’t get to the kids *cough*heath bars*cough* – that doesn’t make you a bad person.
So, despite the fact that my calendar says October 30th, it would seem that Halloween has come and gone.
2 grocery stores and a drugstore in search of one more gluten free option for the candy bags, and the Halloween candy is gone and IT’S CHRISTMAS, BITCHES.
I just broke a crown. The good news is that it doesn’t hurt at all, I don’t think I need another root canal or the tooth pulled, just a new crown.
I hope.
Of course, I broke it eating chicken salad. Chicken. Fucking. Salad.